daily stuffs

Because someone asked me to. ;)

Just about a year ago, I got married to a really nice guy. Because we were on a tight budget, my friends and I did all of the decorating. Since it wasn’t a big wedding, that wasn’t a huge deal. We had fun doing it. All in all, it turned out nicely.

The overall venue looked like this:

Our little reception area

Our little reception area

Yep, those are different colored tablecloths. I guess I should mention we got married on Easter, so that influenced the colors… I went to the local thrift stores and snagged as many different colors and shapes as I could. I also got different plates and as many napkins as I could lay my paws on. I had sooooo many napkins by the time I was done. I crocheted the “centerpieces” because I was told that I needed centerpieces. I guess the look I was going for was “shabby chic”. Anyway, here are some close ups of the tables:

I crocheted a of roses

I crocheted a lot of roses

15040115211364851286742322_1364829686849

Chocolate kiss flowers

 

had to make sure the flowers didn't clash

I had to make sure the flowers didn’t clash

centers

Centerpieces

 

fairy berries glowing

fairy berries glowing

So, I crocheted roses & hearts, rose petals from fake flowers, little plaques with mushy sayings, punch out of paper hearts, and fairy berries inside the roses (which looked so cool when it got dark). The little card was information on how guests could upload pictures to an online album. The plates all held rosebuds made from chocolate kisses and the stems from the fake roses.  Oh, and those heart salt and pepper shakers… I got them off of freecycle. Someone bought them for her wedding and never used them. I freecycled nearly everything from my wedding. I had a ton of candy left over from my candy table. I didn’t think anyone would take it, but they did. Who knew?

Candy table

Candy table

The ceiling we decorated with these:

paper hearts

paper hearts

a different angle

close up

with the doily

different angle

I also crocheted my bouquet, and I loved the way it came out. Okay, just one last detail and I’ll stop. Someone asked about the cake. A good friend of mine made it for me and we decorated it on site. I wanted something different and cool. So we made this cake. It was way too big for our little ceremony, so the hubs took the entire bottom layer into work with him when he went back to work. Ha! That’ll teach me! But it was delish and I enjoyed it. Here’s the cake:

I love this cake

I love this cake

I love these wedding toppers.

I love these wedding toppers.

No, wait, there’s one last thing… This was for my nerdy, game-playing husband (that’s a game the “couch potato” wedding topper is playing — it says “game over” on the screen). I saw it on Pinterest and said, “We’ve got to do this.” So we did. We designed it on the computer and it didn’t cost much at all to get it printed at the local print shop.  I blurred our officiant’s face out because I don’t have his permission to plaster his face all over the internet. ^_^

got hitched!

got hitched!

That’s about it. We had fun. We partied for a few hours after our vows and everyone went home (after we cleaned up that is). In a little less than a month, it’ll be a year. Wow, time flies. Seems like we’ve been together forever now, but like we met just yesterday.  Hope you enjoyed my post. I promise not to bore you with my wedding again, but people have asked, and I, well, it would be rude not to answer. ^_^

7 thoughts on “Because someone asked me to. ;)

  1. OMG. Thank you for posting! That is freaking fabulous! I love all the colors and variety. I LOVE the roses!! Your bouquet is beautiful! And long lasting! And the paper hearts! Seriously, that is awesome. I’m probably going to steal the paper hearts idea…And, I love the cake. Ha! How perfect! Again, thank you for posting 😀 Have a fabulous day!!!

    Like

    • The paper hearts are super easy once you figure out how to make them. A couple of friends of mine and I knocked them out in a couple of hours. And the best part it, you can recycle them once you’re done with them. I freecycled mine afterwards. 🙂

      The roses, those took a little longer… I’m glad you liked them though. 🙂

      Like

    • I forgot to add. If you don’t want to crochet your bouquet, you can always make lace flowers for your bouquet, it’s way faster and easier, and looks great too. You can google how to do it.

      Like

    • Freecycling is great! If I didn’t know it existed, I wouldn’t have bought all of the plates, napkins, tablecloths, etc… I did for the wedding. Thank goodness for thrift stores too, because I could never have afforded all of that new! But I put them on freecycle afterwards, and they were gone, gone, gone. I think the only thing I have left are the things I made that I want to keep (like the bouquet).

      Like

What say you?

