crafty stuff / daily stuffs

The last couple o’ days

It’s funny, after weeks and weeks of not being able to move, suddenly I can breathe again! Yay! Okay, I’m not miraculously better, but the difference between not being able to walk from one room to the next and being able to move around in relative normalcy (so long as I take it slow) is freaking amazing, let me tell you that. I’m pretty sure it’s because the winds aren’t so bad right now. No winds = not so much dust = better breathing for Willow. 🙂 That’s my theory anyway. Plus, it’s been pretty nice weather these past couple of days so I opened all of the windows and got some air going through my house. Remarkable what an airing out does to the place. But I digress…

popular image from this blog

popular image from this blog

So what did I do with my newfound powers? Well, I cleaned for one thing. Wow, did I let the place go with the whole not being able to move thing. I wish I had the energy to do a deep cleaning, but that’ll have to wait until I can breathe like a normal person.  But I did break out the vacuum and get the corners and the places I’ve been just ignoring. I mentioned in my earlier post that I put on a mask and cleaned the heck out of the shower which was getting kind of gross because my husband — bless his heart — appears to be blind to things like dust and mold. I swear, he just doesn’t see it. So anyway, things are slowly but surely getting clean. I’m not saying my house was in danger of being condemned, nor is it now ready to be showcased in Better Homes and Gardens, but it’s way cleaner than it has been in weeks. That’s what I’m saying.

Hopefully this is the last incarnation

Hopefully this is the last incarnation of the label…

But what took a lot of my time these last couple of days was I finally took the bull by the horns and got my reclaimed yarn in something I wouldn’t be ashamed to put on a table to sell.  These are pictures of my latest and greatest labels. It took me a while to get to one that I liked and of course, I had to figure out what to put on the silly thing, but I think I hit a good balance. My hubby has been pretty supportive of this little hobby of mine. We got a nice little label maker and it’s working very well. The bands are just strips of scrapbook paper. I don’t know why, but I love paper. I don’t even do any scrapbooking! But I love paper. I can’t even explain it. I buy the stuff by the bookful, but there are always pages that I don’t really care for. I usually give those pages away at craft swaps, but I figured I would just cut those pages in strips and use them as bands. So far it seems to be working out pretty well.

I love my label maker

Label makers make life easier. 🙂

I picked the name “Thrifty Crafty Things” as my DBA or doing business as name. I’m in the process of seeing if I can use it as my business name. Extensive research (a quick Google search) shows that it’s not a domain name, nor is it a local business name. This means I’m in the clear to use it at the craft fair I plan to sell these at. At least I hope so! I’ll have to do more research to see if I can open a store under this name, but so far it’s looking good. I like it as a name for a thrift store that leans towards crafty things. ^_^

The image is, of course, clip art from the labeling program. I want to make my own, store image, but this will do for now. It’s public domain, and it’s all crafty and stuff. When I open the store, I’ll revamp these and make them way more professional, but for now… I like these. ^_^ Toot! Toot! (Yes, I am tooting my own horn.) I mean they have all of the information that someone needs, right?  Yeah, needle size isn’t on there, but that’s why I put the weight on there (worsted, sport, etc…) so they can look it up. I debated adding that. Seriously, I sat and argued with myself over it for quite some time, but in the end I decided against it because needle size is so arbitrary and in the end, there’s only so much a person can include on a label. You know?

Works every time too.

Works every time too. I have no idea why it’s sideways.

So anyway, my dearest husband worked tirelessly (he’s a computer programmer you know) and created this little program for me to calculate the yardage of the balls of yarn. I had an Excel spreadsheet set up to do the same thing, but this takes up way less memory and it’s more streamline. I mean, an entire spreadsheet for one calculation? And it’s something most people can do on a calculator, but my hubs is a good man, he understands that Math is my mortal enemy, so he set it up for me and I love him for it Anyway, this is a screenshot of the program… ain’t it cute?  I have no idea why it’s sideways. It isn’t on the computer, so turning it won’t fix it. Weird.

Oh well, back to business. So, the last few days, I’ve spent a lot of time measuring, weighing, winding, and labeling yarn. I mean a lot of time. See, when I first started winding the yarn, I didn’t think to measure the yardage, I didn’t know how. So there were quite a few reclaimed sweater yarns that I didn’t know the yardage for. That meant that I needed to measure out 10 yards then weigh that to get the total yardage. Of course that was for each sweater, not each and every ball of yarn! O_o But still, whenever you pull 10 yards out from a ball of yarn, that ball needs to be rewound. It takes time. ^_^

There's ~89 balls of yarn in there.

There’s ~89 balls of yarn in there.

And all of the old labels needed to be replaced with brand spanking new labels complete with yardage and weight. So, yeah, I was busy. I still have about two sweaters left to label. Two sweaters left to actually wind into balls, weigh, and label. Three that need to be unraveled, wound, weighed, and labeled. then Whew! I’ll be done. The craft fair I’m aiming to have this done for is the 26th of April.

I’ve got about a little over one bin done the one pictured here and the bottom of another. Add five more sweaters — which should go faster because I can measure and weigh them as I go — and I think I’m good. 🙂

So, now you know why I haven’t been lurking online like I usually do. I’ve been a little busy.  On an unrelated note, my back and knees are killing me from all the housework. I really need to pace myself when I get these surges of energy. Will I never learn? Probably not since I never have. 😛

2 thoughts on “The last couple o’ days

  1. That’s good news, sort of, as I don’t want you to move if you don’t have to. I haven’t noticed if you have air cleaners running, but I have a few with HEPA filters and they help with my allergies quite a bit. I wonder if they would help?

    Like

    • We don’t have air cleaners running because I’ve read in consumer reports that they honestly don’t “clean” the air. I do have a humidifier in the room with filters, and we just put one in with a filter in the living room. And, of course, the HVAC has a pretty good filter, but other than that, we figured it wasn’t worth the money.

      Like

What say you?

