daily prompt / daily stuffs

One day is the same as another…

The writers of the daily post just love to give us little earworms don’t they?  Today’s asks us what we like to do on Saturday night. Here’s the thing about being disabled… one night is pretty much the same as any other. There is no “week end” other than its place on the calendar. The days just kind of melt together. Except the hubs is home sleeping most of the day away on the weekends. ^_^ He’s still in teenage mode. 😛  Even when I worked I didn’t sleep the day away on the weekends. Weekends were for getting stuff done I couldn’t do while working! You know, like shopping and cleaning. Not sleeping.  But he and I see the world differently. Okay, I will admit, he’s getting better at sleeping the day away on the weekends. He used to sleep until 2pm every Saturday and Sunday, nowadays he tries (note: tries) to get up by 10 or 11 am. I will give him credit for that.

'You've been on that Video Game all Day. Go outside and play.'

Video games, he also likes video games

And that’s how it is with us. We’re still working the kinks out of how we spend our down time together.  Especially in the evenings, and that includes weekend evenings. They really are pretty much the same. My hubs likes his shows. ALL of his shows — and he watches a lot of shows — while I’m pretty content with not watching television. I’m not saying that one way is better or worse than the other, but it’s very hard to compromise on this and still spend time together. Plus, when we do watch television, the way we watch it is completely different. He needs to watch an episode from the very beginning to the very end without interruption. I can come in the middle and watch and be perfectly fine with it. He, like most people, hates spoilers. I don’t care about spoilers. I’m one of those people who reads the back of the book and then keeps reading to see how the author gets to the ending. He, like most people, has to watch the show as it comes out; it will drive him crazy if he misses a new episode. Me? it’s the same episode no matter when I see it. It’s not like they’re going to change it, right? I know, I’m weird. I also lose interest in most television shows very quickly. I don’t think I’ve ever watched a television show past the second season, so there’s that. And I rarely, if ever, watch every episode of a show, ever. He has to watch them in order. Has to. Again, I’m pretty sure he’s like most people in that regard, but… we’re both just different.

We also like different kinds of shows. He likes sitcoms and nighttime dramas (Bones, Big Bang Theory, Once Upon A Time, Supernatural, Game of Thrones, etc…). And while there is nothing wrong with those shows, and I’ll watch and episode of them here and there, I’m just not a fan. I don’t get into them like most people do. I guess I just don’t have the patience to wait a week for the next episode or months for the new session. I lose interest.  I prefer… I hate to say reality shows because there are different kinds of reality shows and most of them suck balls; but I like things like home and garden shows (think HGTV and the DIY network), murder and mayhem (crime documentaries on the ID network), and nature documentaries (think Cosmos and Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman). But I even lose interest in those pretty quickly because… reasons.  I should also mention that my honey is a creature of habit while I start to twitch after a while of doing the same thing day in and day out.

From Poltergeist, but you get the picture

So I said all of that to say this. The hubster and I got stuck in a rut for a long time. Months, nearly a year even. We’d get our dinner and take it in the living room (we have no dining room) and watch TV or just turn the TV on and he’d get on his ipad and I’d get on my netbook and we’d just kinda veg for a few hours.  He thought he was compromising with me by watching “my” television shows, then he’d go back into his nerd cave and watch his shows. As I said before, he needs his shows, and we both need our alone time. Anyway, we really got stuck in a rut. We did nothing but watch television (or be on the Internet) every evening and twice as much on weekends. I blame myself because I haven’t been feeling well. I haven’t watched so much television in all my life! Sure, I got a lot of crocheting and knitting done, but not much of anything else… I can’t really blame the hubster, he likes TV — don’t have anything to do? Watch TV. But it was secretly driving me nuts. I mean, we have plans and plans of things to do with this house nothing was getting done because the stupid television was on. It’s like a magnet. Even if I had no interest at all in what was on the television, I would sit there and stare at it like a deer in headlights. It’s eerie I tell you, eerie. It’s the same with the computer. I almost always have all kinds of plans whenever I sit down in front of the computer. I’m gonna look this, I’m going to research that, but then four hours go by and nothing is done. I have a plan for that (I do! Don’t laugh!) Anyway, two weeks ago, I turned off the television in the living room. It goes off right after dinner.

No, this didn’t happen. I just think it’s funny

Y’all won’t believe how much more we get done! Ha! Funny how that works. We’re not scaling mountains yet, but things are getting done around the house. Since walking half a block puts me out of breath, he’s taken to walking the dogs every evening. Poor things, they were getting out of shape. We’re also packing up the things that we don’t use in preparation for renovating the house. Most of the books have been packed up and moved to storage (our garage for the moment). And the hubby is going through his boxes and boxes of stuff and purging things from them. It would cost a fortune to move everything he has. It cost us a lot to move it the two miles from our old apartment, imagine moving it to another state should we need to. O_o  Plus, there are things in there that he just doesn’t need (clothes he’s never worn, plugs to equipment he no longer has, equipment he no longer uses, you get the picture) that he’s never taken the time to go through. So what do we do now with our evenings, including Saturday? We go through boxes. It’s like a treasure hunt. Don’t get me wrong, my honey isn’t like one of those people you see on Hoarders though I thought he was when I first started dating him. ^_^ If he were, he’d never get rid of anything ever, and he doesn’t keep trash. Oh god, no, we never would have gotten this far if he did. <<<shudder>>> He’s just kinda gotten lazy over the years and never gotten around to purging his stuff.

Windchime I made from smooshed pennies

Windchime I made from smooshed pennies

Me? I never got around to collecting stuff in the first place.  I know I’ve mentioned that I love to buy paper and I do collect pencils, and foreign coins, and smooshed pennies. But I also give stuff away at the drop of a hat. I think I might have mentioned before that for most of my adult life, everything I owned fit in the back of my car. See, I love the act of buying and using all that stuff — including yarn, but I have no emotional attachment to any of it. Except the smooshed pennies and foreign coins, I keep those. I make stuff with the smooshed pennies and display them. Like the windchime pictured here. I should make another one of those soon. I have a bunch of smooshed pennies I’ve collected over the years (and friends send them to me; I have great friends!). They’re like, the cheapest souvenir ever. When I get a store, I’m gonna start collecting machines. ^_^ Plus, they don’t take up much room.

Hmmm. I guess I’ve rambled enough for one day. And I’ve gotten WAY off topic. Hahahaha! Blame it on my tiredness. I was feeling froggy earlier and decided to take the dogs for a walk. Our normal walking path is about a half mile, maybe little longer. Yeah, now I’m exhausted and my lungs are punishing me for it. That’ll learn me.  ^_^ Like I said though, sitting around staring at the walls is getting old. Now I’m gonna go whip up some laundry soap with the hubby’s help, because we’re almost out. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “One day is the same as another…

  1. Whoa, I love your wind chime! If you make another, can you post a how to? Because now I want one. Or seventeen. Or whatever. I assume you put pennies on train tracks? That’s how I always heard it was done.

    Like

    • Nope, there’s a link in the blog (click “smooshed pennies”). There are penny machines *everywhere*. You just have to look for them. They’re normally 55 cents. Two quarters and the penny you want smooshed, and it imprints an image onto the penny — usually of the place you’re at or some generic image. Like I said, cheapest souvenir you can get usually. I started collecting them when I was a teenager.

      Like

        • I used to smoosh pennies on the train tracks in high school, since there was a train that went right by the school. And I lived in a time when we could go off the school grounds during lunch. But we don’t really live near trains any more.

          Like

What say you?

