daily prompt / daily stuffs

I chose voice

There’s a “red pill, blue pill” meme going around that poses this question:

Which would you chose?

Which would you chose?

I, of course, chose language. I mean, to speak the tongues of every person on Earth, how could I not choose that? Oh, my god! How wonderful would that be?  What’s interesting is a lot of people I know chose the blue pill because (and I quote) “music is the international (or universal) language”

Which ties in with today’s daily prompt, which asks:

Do you play an instrument? Is there a musical instrument whose sound you find particularly pleasing? Tell us a story about your experience or relationship with an instrument of your choice.

And again, I choose voice.  And yes, Mag, the voice is a musical instrument, so I am totally answering the question as asked. 😛

A long time ago and far far away, I used to sing in the church choir. Yes, my dears, I used to be a Christian once upon a time. I also sang in my school’s choir during middle school and high school. So, I had a semi-trained voice insomuch as choir teachers can train a voice. I never learned to read music thanks to my Dyscalculia , but I could play it by ear enough to fake it. Don’t get me wrong, I never had any dreams of becoming a rock star, or singer of repute. I just loved to sing. And being in the choir taught me enough to do an okay job at it.

classic Peanuts

classic Peanuts

Being in the choir taught me how to control my breathing so that I wasn’t singing from my throat as most people who don’t know better do.  I learned how to harmonize.  And when my twin and I sang together we would harmonize so well that it was sweet sweet music.  I never did learn how to hold the long notes well; my sister could do a better job at that than I ever could. I think that the most important thing I learned during choir was that that I am an alto, not a soprano, so I learned how to switch octaves so I didn’t hurt myself trying to hit the high notes I couldn’t reach. I still try though, because the high notes are so pretty. But yeah, not gonna happen. ^_^

I love to sing.  Singing is my instrument of choice. Always has been. I’ve never been interested in anything else. I like the sound of a band because it backs up the singer. I can listen to music unaccompanied by a singer and it’s pleasant, but I love me some vocals, even if they don’t form words.  I like to listen to birds sing too, so there’s that. I guess I’ve just always been a word person, and instruments just don’t convey words to me, so I’ve never been interested in learning to play them. The voice has always been where I’m at. So I learned to sing.

I can still sing well enough that it doesn’t drive people screaming from the room. But adult onset asthma took my breath away from me a long time ago so I haven’t been able to belt ’em out like I used to when I was a kid.  Never stopped me though. I’d still sing. The kidlings and I loved us some musicals, and we’d sing every single song!  Out loud, at the top of our lungs sometimes. With dancing. Ever watch Jesus Christ Superstar? It’s nothing but songs!  But we’d sing them all, every one of them. We liked Into the Woods too, and we’d argue of who got to sing which part. In the end though, I think we all would just sing every part. And to tell y’all the truth. I miss that. I honestly do. But kids have to move on, and I still have their memories with me.

For fun a Fullmetal Alchemist AMV… one of our favs.

Even after they all moved out, I still had that joyful uplifting of voice in my life. But then this other breath thing hit that the doctors can’t really figure out. Could be COPD, could be allergies, could be something else. Whatever it is, I can hardly walk, let alone sing…. I’ll let y’all in on a secret, just between all y’all and me. It got so frustrating, trying to sing and not being able to, that I just stopped.  I mean I’ll sing under my breath every once in a while and maybe if I get caught up in a song I’ll lamely sing out the refrain, but it’s a rare thing to hear me sing an entire song all the way through anymore. And singing along with the music used to be such an important — daily — part of my life too.

I will live this way again!

I will live this way again!

But in the last year or so… I’ve hardly sung at all. It kinda makes me sad. I think that’s what makes this whole breathless thing so frustrating to me. I mean, yeah it’s nice to breathe and everything, but it’s taken the two things I love to do the most away from me — walking, and singing. Oh, I still have music in my life. My body can’t take that away (no, stupid body, that’s not a challenge). I just can’t participate in it like I used to.  But I digress… as I am wont to do.

Back to the first paragraph and today’s prompt. To tie them together, because one did make me think about the other, were I to take the red pill and be able to speak every language in the world, and be able to sing as I used to. I wouldn’t even need the blue pill. I mean, imagine. Imagine the songs I would be able to sing. Holy hell, it would be amazing. Music is the universal language, and songs are music, they touch people’s souls. To be able to sing again, and fluently, to everyone. That’s just a wow. That’s why I would chose voice, that’s why I’ve always chosen voice.

I mean, look at this video. the choir is just as important as the orchestra, and the language doesn’t matter. I dare anyone to watch it and not be touched. It’s a beautiful thing to see.

Besides, I absolutely love songs from all over the world, and will listen to them even though I don’t understand them. I mean they blow me away. My playlists have songs from Africa, Turkey, South America, the Netherlands, Russia, Israel… everywhere!  and sometimes the vocals are just amazing. Now think about it… if I could take that red pill and understand these songs, and if I had my breath back and could sing along with them… well, I’d just be in heaven.

Then again, maybe not, some of them could be singing about toilet paper for all I know ahahahaha!

2 thoughts on “I chose voice

  1. Oh, this is an absolutely lovely entry! And this is one of my fav youtube videos. I’ve seen it before and I’m glad you reminded me of it again. Thanks for that. I feel the same way you do about music; it can bring the world together. Thank you for sharing today.

    Like

What say you?

