daily stuffs

Hurry up and wait

Still shopping for houses... :)

Still shopping for houses… 🙂

So, even though we haven’t really gotten the financing figured out yet, the hubs and I are still looking at houses whenever we have a little time on our hands. 🙂 I think it’s fun, but he’s of a different opinion. We tend to go to open houses and you’ve gotta deal with the realtors that are there, which I am okay with, but he’s more introverted than I am, so it’s not his thing. Anyway, we saw an interesting house yesterday that wasn’t too bad. It’s tiny horse farm, so it’s got a corral for two horses, which we don’t really need, but I’m thinking of getting goats someday and it’ll work for goats too. It’s got a chicken coop too, and it’s on two acres of land. Right now, the whole lot is open to the world, but I think we can close it in and make it more private. The house is nothing to write home about, but it’s not awful either. Since the price is lower than what we’d planned on spending, I think we can work with it.

Yeah, see... not quite that extreme. (Original homestead type thing).

Yeah, see… not quite that extreme. (Original homestead type thing).

See, ever since I was a young kid, like about thirteen, I’ve always wanted a place I could, you know, make a small, working homestead-type place (yeah, I was thinking about this before it became a thing). Not like a full-fledged farm or anything, and I don’t want to go off the grid and live like they did back in the 1860’s. I’m not that hardcore. I like my internet and the comforts that electricity brings me. But, you know, I just want work a small plot of land and, I dunno, grow stuff and raise a few animals for eggs and meat so I’m not dependant on the stores. Plant some fruit trees, throw some seeds in the ground and see what comes up. I know my limits, but I think I can handle some chickens.

This book

This book

I know, I know, it’s all the rage nowadays, but that works in my favor because people are trying it, not liking it and getting rid of the stuff that “didn’t work” for them. There’s also tons of resources out there. Like, tons of resources, both digital and otherwise. I have somewhere in storage a book from the early 80’s called “Back to Basics” — the book that started it all for me. Ever since I read that book at age… 16 I think it was… it’s been my vague ideal (I know that ideals are not obtainable, I’m realistic like that) life plan, to get a little bit of land and I dunno, have some chickens and goats, maybe a sheep or a couple of pigs, and a garden.  Now, I’m not fond of vegetables, and they’re not fond of me either, but I like a few of them. I just have to see what grows here and what I can abide and we’ll go from there.  Definitely want to get me a greenhouse of some sort…

See? Even the government wants me to do it. :)

See? Even the government wants me to do it. 🙂

This may sound contradictory, but this wanting a bit of land is one of the reasons why I’ve moved so often. I know, right? It doesn’t make sense, but bear with me. The owning and tending land has been something I’ve wanted to do in my twilight years, not as a young woman. As a young woman, I knew growing up that I’d just want to… roam. But I also knew that when the traveling ended, I’d settle down and, no pun intended, grow roots. It’s been my intention from the start to eventually dig into one place and make it mine. Of course, I have to start laying everything out while I still have the energy to build this up so in my waning years it’s all about tending it rather than building it. So, may as well start now while I still have the energy left. Who knows, maybe the job of building a garden will bring me back to health? Stranger things have happened. I’m not holding my breath though.

Anyway, this need to nest and the want of opening that store I keep talking about has been bringing me conflict the past couple of months.  I want to do both, but we can’t afford a mortgage and a lease for a store, which is why we originally wanted to get a storefront (store on the first floor, living quarters on the second floor).  But, you know what? I know that I can do both, because I’ve seen all around here and elsewhere in the country where people have thrift stores, general stores, vegetable stands, and all kinds of businesses on their property.  So I know it can be done.  I just have to find the place to do it and figure out how to get it done. But, until we then, it’s a game of hurry up and wait.

Just for fun, this woman warns about raising backyard chickens:

8 thoughts on “Hurry up and wait

  1. I love growing stuff in my small garden – it feels manageable to me. I would be SO intimidated by a couple of acres!! I hope you find what you are looking for and give it a go – there is nothing like vegetables grown without chemicals, picked and eaten straight from your own land.

    Like

    • Well, we wouldn’t use the entire two acres for a garden. I’m not that ambitious. Fruit trees grow well here, and there still the store… This property is just behind a huge shopping center. I’m gonna see about the zoning and maybe I can put my store up there in one of the pastures…

      Like

  2. Well, you know our situation ’cause you’ve been here. I’m all in favor of you giving it a shot, but just start small. A few chickens first, and then maybe the goat. Pigs are really hard because they get big and can knock you over, and it’s hard to keep them fenced it.

    If you plant fruit trees, pick dwarfs so you don’t have to climb a ladder to pick the fruit.

    Well, when it happens, you know you can ask me if you need help with anything. 🙂 I’m hoping we can sell this joint in the next 3-5 years and move into a townhouse or an apartment. I’ve done it for 32 years now, so that’s enough.

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

