daily prompt / daily stuffs

A treasure hunt!

The writers of the daily prompt bids us to do this: Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. Then asks us this: What were you doing that year?

And so I went on a quest for a loose coin.  Now I do have a coin jar on my counter which I could have easily pulled a coin from, but what’s the fun in that?  So I dug through my empty messenger bags and purses (I have three total hanging on a door).  Alas and alack, the first coin I found was this one:

smooshed penny

smooshed penny

And as you can see, the date has been smooshed right out of the poor thing.  That, dear readers is one of the few things that I collect in the world. It’s called a smooshed penny or an elongated penny and it’s the best souvenir that fifty cents can buy. Well, $0.51 if you count the penny. I have a whole box of them somewhere, but they don’t always end up in the box.  This appears to be a recent addition since it’s from Seattle.  I think I got it at the mall. Malls are great for finding smooshed penny machines.  Though they do have them in downtown Seattle as well. As you can see, I found a few more in my search:

more smooshed pennies

more smooshed pennies

These were in a bowl on the kitchen counter. Again, no dates to be found, so I continued my search for a coin with a date and came across this handsome fellow:

20150212_105341

20150212_105312

which I must have picked up during my mini vacation through the redwoods while driving from New Mexico to Seattle.  I’d always wanted to see the drive through redwood, and happened to pass by on my way up. It was everything I thought it would be. Ha!  Actually, it was a lot smaller than I thought it would be, but it was still quite impressive. I bought this little coin, got a smooshed penny (I’m pretty sure it’s one of those up there ^^). I also bought a walking stick, and then I went on my merry way.

Not sure why they're sideways

Not sure why they’re sideways

Moving on.  The next place I looked was a bowl of miscellaneous on the hallway shelf which offered me yet another smooshed penny and a needle threader, pictured to the right.  As you can see, neither have a date, though I could give the penny a rough date of when it was smooshed because of where we got it from. The imprint is from Sandia Crest in Albuquerque, NM, and we only went up there one time. I’m sure my hubs has been up there a lot, but I only made it to the summit (and got a smooshed penny) once.  So that would put it some time around May of last year according to my blog. Yep, I had to look it up. I remember going, but I don’t remember exactly when.

The little needle threader came with one of those generic sewing kits. I don’t use it as a general rule because I don’t find it useful.  Which would explain why it was in the bowl of miscellaneous. It also doesn’t have a date, just a country (Germany).  I have a much more useful needle threader which I paid a pretty penny for a while back. It’s sturdier than this little bit of wire and metal. 🙂

Anyway, my search for a coin continued! I swore I would find one (unsmooshed) without resorting to the coin jar on the kitchen counter. Three coats, one couch, five bowls, and two more bags later, I found a handful of coins in my raincoat. Ha! A whole handful. So I chose a coin at random to be the first and came out with a dime.  It did not want to be photographed. I tried different backgrounds but all that came out was a big, shiny flash or a murky blur. Maybe it’s cursed… I wrote a story about a cursed coin once… maybe I’ll dig it up and share it someday.  Anyway, I was able to ascertain the date via the photos, but that’s about it. My eyes, they don’t read that small print so good anymore.

Sorry to keep reusing this, but it fits him so well

Sorry to keep reusing this, but it fits him so well

So the date on the dime is 2006.  Sigh.  Of course it is. 2006 wasn’t a great year for me, because in 2006, I knew this guy who, you could say, was a little psycho.  In 2006 that guy was a major part of my life and for a long time, all I could think about was, “How did I get into this madness?” then it was, “How do I get out of this madness?”  That whole year was nothing but madness, it’s was like standing inside of a hurricane or the Santa Ana winds. There’s no sense of direction because everywhere I turned there was nothing but a maelstrom of destruction around me. It took me months… months to get my bearings enough to get out of that storm, and even then it took me years to recover my equilibrium. I can’t blame him for everything that happened that year, but he was the main catalyst.

Anyway, it’s all in the past. He’s nothing but a vague shadow that lurks in my life. A threatening memory that may or may not appear again someday. Gone but not forgotten. And I learned a very difficult lesson that I’ll never forget. Huh, it’s been nearly a decade now.  But even after nearly a decade, I know… he’s the one person in my life I can’t leave completely behind.  That way lies dragons.

Windchime I made from smooshed pennies

Windchime I made from smooshed pennies

On a completely different note (because why end on a downer?)  Smooshed pennies really are nice to collect and I love them.  If you have them in your town, send me some!  They aren’t that expensive and they’re, like, everywhere. They’re even international! I don’t collect many things, but these are cool! I like to find my machines organically, meaning I like to run across them in the wild — just stumble on them wherever I go.  The hubs likes to use the link I supplied and find them that way. He feeds my smooshed penny habit.  What do I do with them, you ask? Well, I like to make wind chimes out of them, like the one pictured to the right. The chiming sound isn’t that great, but it looks pretty, especially outside. I have another one, not pictured, that mixes old keys with the pennies. It’s pretty cool too. I dunno, I just like smooshed pennies. They’re kinda cool.

2 thoughts on “A treasure hunt!

What say you?

