daily prompt

Never undo anything

Belladonna plant... from the wiki

Belladonna plant… from the wiki

The daily prompt today asks us this: If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative. And honestly, I wouldn’t un-invent anything. Why? because that would be playing God and meddling with affairs I have no business meddling with. There’s all kinds of “bad” things in this world, and all kinds of things that are both helpful and hurtful.  Should I remove something from the world that’s hurtful but also helpful?  One of my favorite examples of this is the Belladonna plant.  Belladonna, also known as deadly nightshade, has many medicinal benefits and has been used for centuries as a medicinal plant, a beauty aid, and a deadly poison.  It’s also a pretty plant, and one I’d have in my garden because I like the looks of it. So I could rid the world of Belladonna because it’s a deadly poison, but I’d also remove the healthful benefits of Belladonna from the world.  The same can be said of nearly everything that’s “bad” in the world.  I can’t really think of anything that’s truly so horrible it should cease to exist. 

hatersgonnacatThere are things that people love to hate, and they would like to eradicate them from the face of the Earth. I’ve heard the arguments, and not just from this prompt.  It’s fine, it’s in our nature to dislike things. I don’t think I’ve met anyone who actually loves everything. I don’t love everything.  There are quite a few things I abhor with all my heart. However, even though I hate them with every fiber of my being, I know I can’t wave a magic wand and have them erased forever and always. Why? because I know that there’s a place for everything that exists on this little blue ball of ours. Even the stuff I hate.

It's the whole ying/yang thing

It’s the whole ying/yang thing

I read this series of books — a sword and sorcery type series — once where the one rule in magic was to never try to unmake anything, even the smallest mote of dust. Because to try and unmake anything would be to create a hole in the universe and that hole would try to fill itself either resulting in the unmaking of the universe itself or the unmaking of the magic wielder. So, no matter how powerful the magic user became, they had to follow that one rule. I guess the other rule, the opposite, would be to never try to create anything from nothing. because to do so would cause an expansion in the universe that would create ripples and tears throughout the fabric of the universe. They didn’t address that, but if one rule exists, I would assume that the other did.  Anyway, reading these dime novels helped create that idea of not “undoing” anything.  Then there’s the whole physics of it, the knowledge that energy cannot be created or destroyed, but it can change form (the law of conservation).

It is

And I’m certainly not gonna mess with it.

I’ve kinda meandered off but let me back up and explain.  Say I want to go back and un-invent internal combustion engines because they pollute the air and the emissions are destroying the world we live in — according to some.  And you know, there’s that whole global warming thing. But think about it, in order to un-invent the internal combustion engine, I’d have to go back to the person(s) who had the idea for internal combustion engines and erase that idea from their mind(s). Simply put, I’d have to undo the idea the whole idea of moving quickly without the use of horses.  I’d have to somehow find a way to ensure that this idea will never take seed in anyone’s mind… anywhere… at any time. But how would I do that? And once that is done, would it create a vacuum in time and space that may or may not tear apart the very universe?  I don’t know. But I’m not gonna take the risk.

Can you destroy the Earth?  Egads! I hope not! That’s where I keep all my stuff!

3 thoughts on “Never undo anything

  1. Okay, you went much deeper than me on this – I love the idea of there being a rule in magic to never unmake anything because that plays God – sound logic. Holes in the universe would certainly suck. A thought to ponder – thanks!

    Like

What say you?

