daily prompt / daily stuffs

They were wrong…

You know, it’s funny when old posts of mine start getting likes all of a sudden. 🙂  Then I realize that they just reposted a daily prompt and my old one is still on the grid.  Ha! This one is still relevant, so I’ll just edit it and update it a bit. ^_^

So, today’s daily prompt asks us: Tell us about a time things came this close to working out… but didn’t. What happened next? Would you like the chance to try again, or are you happy with how things eventually worked out?

Fly by the seat of your pants. :)

Fly by the seat of your pants. 🙂

So even after thinking about this again… I honestly cannot come up with an incident to tell y’all.  I know, I know… Things can’t possibly work out all of the time. And they don’t, they really don’t. However, when things in my life don’t work out, they either fail spectacularly, and I mean they fail in a grand fashion that leaves no reason for doubt that I messed up badly. Or everything works out completely different than I imagined they would.  Or, they go pretty much according to plan… if I make a plan… which I usually don’t. And that’s probably why I can’t think of anything for this because I’m usually flying by the seat of my pants. Plans are for organized people with minds that are wired right. Ha! I’ve tried making plans… I really have… but life has a way of undoing them. So I stopped.  Now I just have vague… ideas about what I want to do in the future. Like my plans for having a mini farm and/or a store? Those are ideas. I’m researching how to do both. One or the other, or both might happen or life may slap me in the face tomorrow and send me in a completely new direction. I’m prepared for pretty much anything (knock on wood).

So I’ll just keep with the last thing I told y’all last time. 🙂

Like this.

Like this.

Do you remember those games most children play that foretell how many children they’ll have, and what gender they’ll be?  You know, like when you hold a needle over your palm and if it goes in a circle you’ll have a girl but if it swings side to side it’ll be a boy, or something like that?  I’m not sure how popular they were back in the day or how popular they are now, but my friends and I ate that stuff up. Anyway, there were several different variations that I can recall from way back in my childhood/teenage days, including the lines under the pinky (palmistry), though some of the details are a little fuzzy. 🙂  What I do remember is this: Every single one of those little fortunes told me I would have four children — two boys and two girls. Every. Single. One. of them. Without fail. I thought that was a pretty good indication that I would have four kids. Two boys, and two girls. Therefore, when my fourth kidling was still baking in the oven, I didn’t even pick out a girl’s name for her because I just knew she would be a boy. Pronoun usage should proclaim this didn’t work out as planned.

Those who do not believe...

Those who do not believe…

Yeah, imagine my surprise and slight disappointment that all of those fortunes had been shot down.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my kidlings and wouldn’t trade any of them for anything. Not one of them. I did think it strange that all of those fortunes were wrong. How could they be wrong? A teeny tiny bit of me died a little though. Why? Because I’ve always kept a part of that mystical, spiritual child inside of me, and there’s always been a part of me believes in the power to see into the future — just a little bit. I decided early on to look about me with a childlike sense of wonder so I would never be disappointed in the world. You know? I mean, as the saying goes, “Those who do not believe in magic will never find it.” Right?  It’s not a big thing to want to have this small victory over the universe.  Two boys, two girls, everyone said so. Why not?

But, oh well, can’t change the facts. Moving along. And so it went. Water under the bridge.  Forgotten until about, I’d say, six… maybe seven… years ago, when one of my girls informed me that she’d been born in the wrong body and was meant all along to be a boy child.

BAM!

It is

It is

The fortune tellers were right all along! Take that, non-believers! That small part of me blossomed again and danced for joy. Just because nature didn’t cooperate, doesn’t mean the stars are wrong. Ha!  Two girls and two boys!

Booyah!

We’re still working on helping my child get the body he needs to be a man… I mean these things don’t come cheap, and it’s not like I can snap my fingers and change that for him. I would if I could, because I want my children to be happy, but there’s only so much I can do, right? I know it will be a difficult road for him, and I’m there if he needs me. But that’s his tale to tell, not mine. Me? I have that teeny, tiny satisfaction of knowing that sometimes, all is right in the world of the fortunetellers and there is some magic in the world.

What say you?

