daily stuffs

5-Day Black & White Photo Challenge

So, Marilyn Armstrong, over at Serendipity tagged me to do this B&W photo challenge, and I’m always one for a challenge. Don’t get your hopes up too high though, because I’m not one for taking pictures. Ask anyone. I kinda suck at it. But I’ll do my best. I mean, it can’t hurt, right?

Besides, I like internet games… and it only has two rules:

1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using one of your photos in B&W. It doesn’t have to be new or any particular subject. Just black and white.

2. Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

So for today, I’m going to invite Destino to play even though she has her own Black & White photo challenge on her blog.

wedding decor

Hearts & Stones

Today’s photo is a picture I wanted to post a couple of days ago for my anniversary (2 years!) but didn’t get around to it because my energy has been fairly non-existent nowadays.  I took the original, cropped it and made it black & white. It’s from our wedding. The hearts are made out of strips of book pages and the teardrops are made from red plastic. We hung them from the drop-ceiling over all of the tables with paper clips and ribbon. Original picture and how that looked here if you’re interested. No fuss, no muss, and easy clean up.

I still have most of the red drops and two of the paper hearts (they didn’t travel as well as I anticipated) Honestly I think it captures the simplicity of everything that is the hubs and me. We don’t fight, we hardly argue, and we basically live our life simply with a dash of sparkle to keep things interesting.

2 thoughts on “5-Day Black & White Photo Challenge

  1. Thank you for taking up the challenge. I love your hanging hearts and things. I bet you do origami too 🙂 I so admire people who are good with their hands. I’m semi-good with my hands. I can do what I can do … play the piano, type with all ten fingers. But a lot of other stuff (sewing, knitting, carving) totally elude me. Congratulations on taking on a challenge when it isn’t your strong suit. You are courageous!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’ll try to do all five days. I just have to find pictures that will make the transition to B&W. ^_^ You have the jump on me there, being a photographer and all.

      Actually origami eludes me… I’ve tried it and it’s way too frustrating. I saw these hearts on Pinterest — someone was selling them, can you believe it? — and thought, Those can’t be difficult to make.

      It took us a few tries to figure them out, but once we got the mechanics down, my friends and I whipped out a few dozen in about an hour. There’s a lot of cutting & measuring involved! But I think they turned out nice.

      Like

What say you?

