daily prompt

I’d hammer in the mornings…

Tools

Tools

The daily prompt asks us what craft or trade we’d like to learn if we could chose any skills to add to our toolkit, or as they put it our “back pocket”.  As for me, I have a few.  I already know which end of a screwdriver to hold, and I know how to hammer in a nail or two. I’m not a carpenter by any means but I can do a patch job when the moment calls for it. I thought about becoming an electrician at one time in my youth. I even started applying for an apprenticeship, but decided against it for some reason or another.

Before I moved here to Seattle, I was actually trying to learn two things, 3D rendering and computer coding. I’m not sure why I set those aside… probably the hassle of moving and all the health crap I’ve been dealing with since moving here… but I’m leaning towards taking those up again. No, I don’t want to go into those trades, I just want to learn the skills because I think they’ll be nifty to know.  Hell’s bells, I have an MA in English and I’m not gonna do anything with that. I had vague plans to, but nothing concrete. I just liked the subject. I studied Linguistics in college for the same reason, I like it. I still read up on it whenever I find interesting articles and books. Do I plan on becoming a Linguist? Hell no. Way too much logic and math in that field. Not to mention the field work. It’s the same with coding and 3D rendering. I think they’re interesting and I like doing stuff with what I learn, but I don’t plan on making a career out of it.

This is a tunnel made from living willow branches... I tots want this in my yard.

This is a tunnel made from living willow branches… I totally want this in my yard.

There are two other things that I’m researching right now that I do plan on doing stuff with; gardening and owning a business (a thrift store to be exact).  Right now, we’re up in the air about which I’ll be able to put into practice first, but I’m still researching both. For those I haven’t told, the mortgage broker we’re working with called the hubs back and said she might could make our loan “work”. Yay? So we’re still waiting to see if the house deal is on the table. It’s all up to the underwriters at this point in time. We filed for an extension on the closing date two days ago and that’s the last we heard from anyone.

I hate waiting.

So anyway, gardening — more along the lines of permaculture or forest gardening — has been the focus of my research for the past few weeks or so. I’ve been reading tons of books and watching boatloads of videos. Pinterest is a cornucopia of information and misinformation as usual, but it’s fun to sort the wheat from the chaff. I have lofty ideals and a whole bunch of stuff I want in my garden, but I’m fully aware that I won’t be able to fit everything I want in the space I’ll have. But I can dream! I can totally dream. I know I won’t just plant a few seeds or plants and everything will fall into place, but with a little work, some hard earned cash, and a lot of planning, I think I can have the little green acre I’ve always wanted.  Hell, it may take years before I have the garden of my dreams, and at this point in time, I don’t even know if I’m gonna have the house I want. But until then, I’m having a lot of fun digging through all of the information.

How I see all math problems

How I see all math problems

Owning my own store has also been dream of mine from way back. Ideally, a storefront would have been best, or a store on my property, but if we get the house we’re going for it’s not zoned for commercial use, so that would be out. If we don’t then we can plan for that in the future. The downside to owning a store is all the math that’s involved.  As I’ve mentioned before, I have Dyscalculia, which is like Dyslexia but with numbers. I can use an accounting software and use triple redundant safeguards to make sure that my math is good. I’ve done it before. I’m wicked good at setting up spreadsheets and databases for just that reason, but man it’s a pain in the ass. I’m pretty sure I’ll have everything else down before I have all the math down. I’m an organized person when I need to be, but math makes my brain shut down. And I totally don’t want to hire someone to keep my books and entrust them with everything. Nope. I’m not that trusting.

And I've been kinda sick

And I’ve been kinda sick

I don’t know what the future holds. I may be reading all of these books and making all of these plans in vain. Hell, I went to four years of college and “have nothing to show for it” but a lot of debt. I put that in quotes because I don’t think I have nothing to show for it. I enjoyed the hell out of my college years. I enjoyed going to class and I loved learning.  Yeah, it cost me a lot of money and I’ll be paying those loans off for a long time, but what the hell? I don’t think I wasted a moment of that time. I don’t agree with society’s idea that everything I do has to profit me somehow. Screw that noise. This is the only life I have, and I’m going to live it. Hour by hour and day by day.  I don’t need to build up as much money as I possibly can while walking through this life, because what good is that gonna do me if I make myself miserable doing it? Nah, so long as I have enough to pay the rent and put food in the fridge, I’m good.

Just for fun, the prompt’s earworm…

6 thoughts on “I’d hammer in the mornings…

  1. Great post. I have long wondered if I have some sort of math-related disability and now that I have read that definition I’m sure of it. I am back in school studying for my master’s degree and two of my classes involved a lot of equations. While I have achieved high A’s on most of my classes, I barely passed the math part in those two classes. Not sure what to do about it at this age, but it would have been nice to know when I struggled in high school and college.

    Like

  2. You sound sort of like me … a knowledge collector. I know a lot of stuff just because it was interesting, so I learned it. My son is dyscalculic and so in his daughter, my granddaughter. I am not dyscalculic, but I’m hopelessly numerically challenged anyway. This stuff must run in families. I like learning other stuff, but writing is hard wired. Other skills would be useful, but I can’t seriously think about them. But you can come fix my wiring 🙂 In fact, anyone who has handy person skills is welcome to drop by and practice. My house will thank you!

    Like

    • I think it was Einstein who said that the day we stop learning is the day we start dying. I’m totally down with that. Dyscalculia sucks rocks. I’ve worked around it for the most part, but watching me try and do math is a sight to behold.

      I don’t mess with electrical stuff, I leave that to the certified people… That way lies dragons. I’d burn the house down, and we don’t want that.

      Like

What say you?

