daily stuffs

Still around. Really, I am.

The last few days have been a bit busy for me. Sorry I haven’t been posting like I used to. Give me a week or so and I should be settled down in the new place and then I can bother y’all once again with my ramblings on a more or less daily basis. ^_^ Today though, I am taking a break from getting my house in order.

Of course, I had to take a picture

Of course, I had to take a picture, or ten, or twenty… who’s counting?

Let me just say that I really like this place. I feel like I’ve lived here for years and years rather than a week. The pets absolutely love it too. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my dogs play nearly as much as they do every day now. I mean… They’re playing all of the time. It’s so cool to watch. Probably because they’re not inundated by all of the noise we had while living in Seattle, and even with all the other barking dogs and loud noises in the suburbs of Albuquerque. We do have a couple of neighbors with dogs here, but they’re a bit away, so it’s not as bad.  The cat loves looking out the window at all of the birds and other things in the yard.  Just the other day I looked up to see a rabbit not ten feet from my window. Just sitting there as easy as you please.  We stared at each other for a bit then we went about our business.  There’s tons of rabbits in the blackberry bushes that line our property.  Now I might not be so nonchalant about them if I were trying to grow a vegetable garden, but right now, eh… I think they’re fine.

We're in the valley.

We’re in the valley.

The hubs likes the place too. He has a longer commute to work… miles wise, but the time it takes to get him to and from work has actually decreased, plus the view is pretty bitchin’. Not so much in the way of buildings and cars and more mountains and trees (and cars).  It doesn’t bother him as much if he gets stuck in traffic.  Of course, it’s only been a week or so… we’ll see how long that lasts. I am totally digging being surrounded by mountains, and they’re so close!  Right outside my front window I watch clouds run into the mountains every day and it’s pretty cool. The great thing about being surrounded by the mountains is that I don’t get migraines from sunsets because the light never hits the angle in the sky that makes my head burst in two.  The mountains block it every day. Winner for me!

But I haven’t been just sitting around admiring the scenery. No.. I’ve been trying to get my house in order. That means unpacking boxes and putting stuff away. But I hit a snag which I posted about a few days ago. So I’m still waiting for those parts to arrive. But I hate sitting around doing nothing. So, at the advice of my baby brother (who’s in his thirties, but he’ll always be my baby brother…), I went down to the big-box hardware store and bought me some shelves so I could turn the bedroom next to ours into a walk in closet. See, even when we do get the closet system I had in our old house up, it won’t work in that room because of the decorative trim on the walls. But the shelving I bought totally works there because it’s molded to fit around the trim. And the previous closet system will totally work in the room I have picked out as a craft room. So, see? it all works out. Anyway, the last few days I’ve been putting up shelving in the room next to ours, and, Voila! a walk-in closet for less than $300.

Yes, that's a purple wall

Yes, that’s a purple wall

I did this wall first, and it took me a good two hours to get the brackets up on the wall. That seems like a long time for me. Way longer than it should have taken (in my opinion). And when I was done, that’s it, I was wiped out for the rest of the day.  But! it’s up and it looks good. If I do say so myself.  I used a level and everything, so it’s all nice and even. I did notice that the wall is not plumb, which I can’t do anything about, so the shelf isn’t touching some of the brackets in the back… That kinda sucks.  I really do need to screw the shelf onto the brackets, but I got lazy towards the end and just said, “Screw it, it’s a heavy shelf, it’s not going anywhere.”  Right? Sorry about all of the tools on the table, I’m lazy about putting them away if I’m gonna use them again later. which I did.

The next day...

The next day…

So, the next I put another shelf on the other wall. As you can see, the shelf on the grey wall (don’t ask me why there are two colors, I didn’t paint them) is two inches higher than the one on the purple wall because there’s a fuse box on the wall adjacent to it, and it needs to clear that box. I don’t think it’s a noticeable difference, but maybe a little. It was noticeable to my arm! Remember, I have a strained rotary cuff, so reaching up is difficult for me and those two inches made it hard! I had to get a step stool to use the drill and screwdriver. So this shelf was both easier (because I knew what I was doing) and more difficult because it was higher. But they’re up, and I think they look good.

Meadow in the back.

Meadow in the back. There are bunnies there — sometimes.

We bought a dresser yesterday so I have a place for my clothes that don’t go on hangers and we bought some shoe racks — one for each of us. Neither of us has that many shoes, but we each have enough that there’s at least a pair or two that needs storing. I haven’t put the dresser nor the shoe racks together yet, but I will. Maybe tomorrow. I’m tired today. I’m gonna probably indulge in my new past time (blame my husband for this) and get lost in the world of Skyrim. Now, I haven’t played video games since I was a kid. Like the last video game I played was on the Atari, but I figured, “Why not?” and asked him to set up his Playstation 3 and thought maybe Skyrim would be a good game to play. So far, it’s been interesting. I like it. It’s a good way to relax. I can also look out my kitchen window at my overgrown back yard (it’s a meadow at this point) and watch bunny rabbits… but they only show up when they want to, so that’s not always a sure thing. 🙂

Just for fun, this happened while I was playing Skyrim the other day. I know it probably happens a lot, but since it’s my first time playing the game, I thought it was hysterical.

4 thoughts on “Still around. Really, I am.

What say you?

