daily stuff

We *might* be moving again

And not by choice.

Our nemesis at the moment

Our nemesis at the moment

Here’s the thing. We bought this house knowing it was on the 100 year floodplain and we were okay with that knowledge and willing to take that gamble. We also didn’t really mind the highway. It’s kinda soothing to me and way less noisy than Seattle. We may have bitten off more than we could chew with 2.5 acres of land, but that’s okay. I can work with that… eventually. But what we didn’t know (and neither realtor knew) was that the local government is putting into effect a “flood control” plan for this area of our city — to protect the highway and nearby shopping center.  The neighbors up the street came knocking our our door about this a few weeks back and I’ve been doing some research since then. The flood control plan, if they implement it, will change the floodplain area and will… probably… in all likelihood… include this option (from the City of North Bend Floodplain Management Plan):

Remove or relocate all existing structures between the river and South Fork Avenue SE. This would include homes on South Fork Avenue SE and SE 130th Street (approximately 15 residences).

That includes us.  Seriously? I mean seriously??? Pardon me while I throw a small tantrum.

I'm a little miffed

I’m a little miffed

I’m okay.  But, what that means for me and the hubs (and the furbabies) right now is that all of our plans to improve the place and make it our little oasis will be put on hold until we know what, exactly, our town is doing with this area. According to the plans I’ve looked up online (first link above), they’re planning to implement this flood control by next summer. I’m assuming that means we’ll know if we’re moving or not by this winter, or sooner.  There’s a meeting about this in a couple of weeks so hopefully we’ll find out more then.

I wonder if we could move our house?

I wonder if we could move our house?

Our neighbors are hot about this. But they’ve lived here for decades. Most of them grew up here, some of them have generations of family in this area.  We’re the newcomers. It doesn’t affect us as much as it does them. We’re kinda used to pulling up stakes and moving on (well, I am, the hubs is getting there). But we were kinda hoping that this would be the last time.  But, as I have mentioned before. Plans have a habit of changing… don’t they?

Now I’ve been giving this some thought and I wonder if we could just pick up the “mobile” part of our manufactured house and have that moved to a new piece of land? It might be more trouble than its worth since they did add on that stick addition, but we kinda like this house. It’s what we fell in love with. The land and outbuldings are okay, but this house is really nice for a manufactured home. I wonder, if push comes to shove, if we could just pick it up and move it to a (slightly smaller) plot of land? Might be worth it if it comes down to that.

Anyway, I’ll keep y’all posted on what’s going on.

10 thoughts on “We *might* be moving again

  1. Pain in the butt! If you want to know if your house can be moved, talk to a local dealer who sells double-wides and other manufactured houses. I bet someone like that could tell you.

    Like

    • I think the only thing that would make it so we can’t move it is that they added the stick addition to the back. So we’d have to demolish the stick addition before we could do anything… unless them adding the stick addition somehow damaged the integrity of the overall manufactured home… But that is something I can ask! 🙂

      Like

  2. You just have to wait and see. It sounds like it’s out of your hands for the moment. Presumably they would compensate you and give you some options about moving. These things usually happen in slow motion. A lot of nice towns have been flood controlled out of existence.

    Like

    • Yeah, they’ll compensate everyone… from what I understand it’s the estimated value of the property plus ten percent. You’re right though, it’s out of our hands.

      Like

What say you?

