daily stuff

Shifting gears

As anyone who follows my blog knows, we bought our house in May, and we have plans for our property (if we get to keep it — see here for details about that). This is intended to be our forever home. We don’t want to move ever again. We both like it here. We already feel like we’ve been here for years and years and that’s what home feels like, as if we belong in this place. It’s our refuge from the world. This is the a spot in all the places I’ve been where I can’t really imagine being anywhere else. Even with my plans, I don’t really have grand ideas about changing the feel of the place, just… adding to it. If that makes any sense.

There's a lot to think about.

There’s a lot to think about.

Anyway, before we moved here, I wanted to have a storefront. A piece of property with a store below and a living space above. That seemed the ideal work setup for me. Very short commute and I could do the monkey work at night and not worry about a long drive home in the wee hours of the morning. Of course, now that we have this property, a store is out of the picture — for a while at least. And if I ever do get my store, we’d be leasing the property, not buying it like I originally planned. Not unless I win the lottery, which is highly unlikely because I don’t play the lottery. Still, the store is on the back burner for now.  I have some inventory that I bought for the store that I need to sell, and I’m considering selling it online. I’m still looking at options… The problem is that selling online is different than selling in a brick and mortar. I have to shift gears and have it prepared differently. Get shipping materials. Do I sell things in lots or do I sell things in pieces? Do I open an online store or use a service as suggested by friends? I hate dealing with services, but I don’t know if I’m ready to open an online store either. I’m frozen in place by the enormity of the decisions hanging over me with just this one thing.

Then there’s the property itself. There is so much I want to do to it, and so much we cannot afford to do to it right now. And the aforementioned county plans that we’re not sure of. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t even want to mow the front lawn because that will lead to me wanting to make paths and plant bushes, then I’ll want to put up a fence (or two) and pull down other fences which desperately need to be pulled down because they are rotting in place. Then I’ll want to plan out where the pond will go, and paint the soon to be chicken coop, and fix those fences, then put up the goat enclosure. And so it goes. One thing leads to another, and do we put up chain link, or hog wire fences? Do we put up permanent fences or go our neighbor’s route and put up fences we can move around with the seasons. The neighbors have pigs. I’ve considered raising pigs too. We have the room for pigs. I’ve read that they’re not that difficult to raise.

Still haven't figured out what to do with these

Still haven’t figured out what to do with these dead blackberry bushes.

But before I get to any of that, I have to figure out how to clean up the mess that the last landscaping company left behind. Plus the added mess the winds left behind yesterday. We have all kinds of branches strewn about our yard. Oh! and here’s a mystery for y’all. Some time about a week or so ago, some person when into the trees where the landscaping company cleared out the blackberry bushes and pulled all of the trash out and piled it up on the side of the road and just… left it there.  I didn’t do it. The hubs didn’t do, and the neighbors didn’t do it. We thought they did it. Nope. They said they saw some “young guy with his pants hanging down to his hips” pulling the trash out and thought it was a relative of ours.  How weird is that? Now we have a big pile of trash in front of our yard… tires, tarp, mailboxes, and we have no idea who did that or why. We still have to deal with it though, and the dead blackberry bushes, and all of the branches that are now all over our yard. I can’t even think about even mowing until all of that stuff is taken care of.

And don’t even get me started on the inside of my house. I don’t want to make any major cosmetic or even structural changes to the house because we fell in love with the house the way it is. But! there’s this area in the back that we’re using for storage right now that we could easily rent to a boarder and make half of our mortgage every month. It wouldn’t take much to make it a rentable space, just a mini fridge and a microwave.  There is already a separate entrance back there, and the space has its own bathroom, a living area, and two bedrooms. If we wanted to go whole hog, we could convert one of the bedrooms back there into a kitchen and rent it out as a one bedroom apartment for over half of our mortgage. Or rent it out as is (with the mini fridge and microwave) for a little less than half.

Yeah, body... calm down

Yeah, body… calm down

And the thing is, I keep thinking, “I can do these things — renovate, yard work, open a store, whatever — myself if I only had a person to do the heavy lifting.”  Because in the past I could have done all of this and more with someone helping me to do the heavy lifting. I’m a handy person. I figure things out. I like doing stuff like this. Nowadays, I think I’d need more than someone to do the heavy lifting though. I think I’d need at least two people to do the heavy lifting. Hell, I can hardly do yard work without throwing my back out.  I need to figure out how to work around this newly broken body again. Anyway, I don’t have even one extra body to do the heavy lifting.  The hubs is great and a wonderful person. I love him to death, but a handyman he is not. He knows it. I know it. Now the world knows it. That’s okay. I didn’t fall in love with him for his handyman skills. So right now, things are not getting done. It’s kinda driving me buggy because my mind knows I can do stuff and it wants to go out there and do stuff. But my body reminds my mind that it ain’t as young as it used to be, and my husband reminds my mind that we’re not as rich as I want to be and the stuff I want to do costs money. So I need to calm down and wait a while to get stuff done.

I hate waiting. ^_^

why-is-patience-a-virtue-why-cant-hurry-the-fuck-up-be-a-virtue

2 thoughts on “Shifting gears

  1. I had an online store on Ruby Lane. It did quite well for almost three years until the economy tanked in 2008. I think online is a fine way to go because if it doesn’t work out, you don’t have nearly as many obligations and contracts to deal with.

    I could never raise anything for meat. I could never kill anything. It would just be another pet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know a lot of people who feel the same way about raising animals for meat, but I came to grips with my meat eating habits a long time ago, so I’m good. I don’t know about the hubs though. He might have difficulties eating anything we raise. It’s something we’ll have to deal with when we get there.

      I’ve checked out Ruby Lane, and… I’m still trying to figure out what’s best for me. ^_^

      Like

What say you?

