daily stuffs

Checking in

So, last Friday I took my cat to the vet because he was blocked.  I posted about that here. We thought all was well and good when we brought him back on Saturday, but it wasn’t. He hadn’t used the litter box at all on Sunday, so we took him back, and the vet stuck a catheter in him. We took him back on Monday morning to have the catheter removed, but the catheter hadn’t done its job, and he was still full of urine. The vet gave me three choices, put a longer catheter in him, take him home and hope for the best… pay for a very expensive surgery which we could not afford, or put him down.

Shaven and shorn but otherwise okay

Shaven and shorn but otherwise okay

It was a tough choice. I bawled like a little child because I knew that we couldn’t afford the surgery, and I knew the catheter might not work. I chose the first option anyway. They put a longer catheter in him and we brought him home.  Within minutes, he had the catheter out of him and had worked loose of his cone. We tried two different types of cones, but he kept getting out of them. We didn’t know how to put the catheter back into him and I didn’t want to try. Honestly, I didn’t want to hurt him by trying. I have no experience with these kinds of things. So we just let him be.

So, he used the litter box that night like it was no big thing. We called the vet the next morning and explained that he’d gotten the catheter out and used the litter box and they told us to bring him in. So we did. And wonder of wonders, his bladder is back to normal and he appears to be his old self again. We’re still keeping an eye on him and monitoring his litter box. But there’s a part of me that says if he gets blocked again, I don’t want to put him through all of this again, and they will insist that we either do the surgery or put him down. I hope against hope that he doesn’t become blocked again. At least not for a long while. It’s selfish of me, I know, but I love my cat, and I’ll miss him when he’s gone.

6 thoughts on “Checking in

    • Thanks. ^_^ I love my furbabies, but I know going into each pet relationship that I will probably outlive them. Doesn’t make it hurt less, but it keeps me from being selfish in the end.

      Like

What say you?

