eating / health stuff

Here we go again…

I know, I know. We’ve been down this road before. But this time is different. This time I’m going to do things right. (Sound familiar?) Ha! The sad truth is, I have to face a few things about my broken body and admit that I can’t eat like I’ve been doing.  I can’t just go on an elimination diet then go right back to eating like I did before and expect things to be all honky dory. It just doesn’t work that way. Nope, it’s got to be a complete lifestyle change for the rest of my life. And I’m going down kicking and screaming. Let me tell you that. Which is why it took so long for me stop lying to myself. After a lot of hemming and hawing, I have to admit to myself that low FODMAP diet is the best diet for me. Yes, I’ve tried this diet (eating style, it’s not for weight loss) before… but I did it half-assed and cheated the whole way through. Little cheats, mind you, but cheating nonetheless. The plan says I can have sugar in moderation. Ha! I’m a sugar addict, moderation is not in my vocabulary when it comes to sugar.  It’s the only thing I’m addicted to…

dark-chocolate1.jpg

Totally not addicted to these… I’m not. *sigh*

*cough* **coffee**

*cough* **chocolate**

*cough* **Diet Coke**

What?

Anyway, I have a hard time giving up the sweet stuff. And bread. I mean my first thoughts when I first heard about this diet were: I’m not living my life without bread. No way, Jose. Bread has been the staple of human diet since time immemorial. Give up bread? Not happening. Not in my lifestyle.

Yeah, our brains are stupid like that. I finally gave up being stubborn and actually looked at the diet itself. At the recipes. I don’t have to give up bread, or even swap it out for really crappy bread. And the gluten free stuff I’ve bought in the stores is really crappy bread. But this time I got smart. I bought a cook book… two even. I’m doing my research. I’ll make my own damned bread. And I can make chocolate chip cookies. And brownies. So there. I can have my cake and eat it too. Because I can bake more cake. I’m the bomb. ^_^

It could happen

It could happen

*Ahem* As I was saying, I am going on the strict, elimination diet again, and this time, I’m following the plan outlined in the book instead of winging it and trying to do it my way. I’m using their recipes instead of trying to just do my own. I’m using their menus (mostly) and going whole hog with what they recommend for the entire six weeks of the diet. I’ll try not to bore y’all with the details because I’m sure you guys are sick of hearing about my stomach problems. But all of this means that I’m learning how to bake gluten-free and basically, I’m learning how to cook again. It’s been a long time, nearly a decade, since I’ve actually done any real cooking. It’s become something of an adventure this whole relearning how to cook business. ^_^  I mean, the hubs and I tried cooking together for a minute in New Mexico, but he’s usually tired from work, so he doesn’t feel like cooking, and he eats his big meal at lunch so he doesn’t feel like eating at night. So, yeah, that experiment didn’t go well. Now I’m cooking for me, and me alone. Most recipes are for 4 to 6 people, so that’s going to be interesting to figure out. Add in the gluten free, dairy free factor and it’s most interesting indeed. I’ve tried about four recipes from the FODMAP cookbook so far, and they’ve turned out pretty good. I’m pleasantly surprised.

Corn muffins I made yesterday. They were yummy.

Corn muffins I made yesterday. They were yummy.

In starting this whole diet/cooking for myself venture, I’ve learned that the stove top we have in our kitchen is pretty awful. It’s an electric coil cook top, over thirty years old, and in sad need of replacing. I think it’s going through menopause because it’s prone to heat flashes, which makes cooking fun. It burned half the pancakes I tried to make the other day and undercooked the other half. Now, I know it’s been a while since I’ve made pancakes, and I know it’s a poor musician who blames her instrument, but I do remember how to use a stove. Turn this silly thing up one notch and the pan is smoking, turn it down a notch and it’s not hot enough. That’s the stove’s fault, not mine. The oven unit (which is in the wall on the other side of the kitchen) is tiny and as old as the cook top. It runs low.  So, if the directions say to heat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit, then I need to heat it to 400 degrees Fahrenheit, or so. I’m still fiddling with it.  But it’s okay, the muffins I made turned out fine. So far, I’ve made corn muffins (pictured above) and vanilla rhubarb muffins.  Yesterday I ran into the wonderful experience of being halfway through a recipe and not having one ingredient (in this case, baking soda). Ah, memories.

So, as I said, here we are again. But it will be different this time. I’m much more motivated to do it right this time. I have a lot of things on my plate and if I can just eliminate one thing (IBS, gas, inflammation, anything!) it will help so much in me getting my life back together. Because as I’ve mentioned before, most of the chronic illnesses I have are mild to moderate, but when you stack them one on top of the other the weight becomes overbearing, and it seems that there’s a new thing every year. If changing the way I eat takes even one thing off of that pile, I’ll be in heaven. Honestly. And eating is like, one of the few things I have control over. I can’t control my thyroid, nor can I control the way my brain is wired, but I can control what I put in my mouth. Sounds simple, right? This is the third time I’ve “tried” this diet. Here’s to hoping that it sticks this time. ^_^

5 thoughts on “Here we go again…

  1. I think you know that I got diagnosed with RA a while back. I will write about my experience with food/pain shortly, I was just waiting for the new blood results. I had to eliminate food and food groups and used the GAPS diet regulations to do so. It worked, than I got excited and thought I had it all figured out, cheated a little bit and the pain and all the symptoms came back. I am healing my gut so to speak and I am stunned by the results.

    Giving up what we loved for so many years is no fun. I had to give up coffee, sugar and dairy, what was the worst. I learned how to ferment food and that made all the difference in the world.

    You post just convinced me that I should write about it. Good luck on your lifestyle change (I hate the word diet). Hang in there, it’s worth it.

    Like

    • I’ve looked at fermenting food (yogurt and such) and I made pickled eggs a while back. They were goooood! ^_^ I’m gonna stick with this and really see it through this time. The low FODMAP diet (I hate that word too, but it is what it is) is for people with delicate tummies like mine. It worked before when I tried it and didn’t cheat. I just need to realize that it’s not a temporary bandage. Like my condition, it’s something that I have to do for the rest of my life.

      I’ll never give up coffee! Never! Never I say! >_<

      Liked by 1 person

What say you?

