daily prompt / nablopomo

Why, you ask? Well, let me tell you.

The daily prompt asks a simple question today. Why do you blog?  I kinda answered that on my home page… and when I first started blogging way back when. But what the hell, let’s see if I can answer a little differently. Warning, this could either be a very short post or a very long post.

Fall to me, dragon!

Fall to me, dragon!

As anyone who reads me knows, I have a lot of time on my hands. I don’t want to be sitting around staring at the walls, but it seems I don’t have a lot of choice in the matter. My body rebels against me, and at the moment, I am losing that war.  So I need something to do that’s not very taxing. And I have a few choices. I can watch television all day. I could play video games… and I am totally addicted to Skyrim, I’m not going to lie.  There’s nothing more satisfying than bringing down a couple of dragons or a nest of vampires when you’re feeling too tired to move. Boom, Baby! I am the Dragonborn!

Ahem… So I could play video games, which I do, but not all day. Video games are something I do at night, when the light is better.  Or I could sit at the computer and do computer stuff.

Television is something I do when I’m too tired to do anything else. Or when I’m knitting or crocheting and I want background noise. I used to have it on when I studied. I hardly ever have the television on just for the sake of watching TV. Not anymore. I used to be an avid television watcher, but it’s not in me anymore to sit and watch TV. My mind is just too restless. So the idea of just watching TV all day makes me twitch.  I couldn’t do it if I tried. Besides nowadays all of the stations have these marathons of the same show. Whose brilliant idea was that? Six hours of the same show? Sometimes two days of the same show? What’s up with that?  What I’m trying to say is, I don’t watch a lot of television. I do watch television, but not a lot of it. Plus, as I’ve ranted about before.. commercials drive me nuts.

^_^

^_^

So I’m left with doing computer stuff, and that includes blogging.  Blogging is writing. I write because I have this overwhelming urge to put my thoughts to paper. I’ve had this urge for as long as I can remember. I remember writing things down way back in grade school. My earliest memories are of reading and writing, not playing and running around. Writing is fundamentally a part of what I am. If someone were to surgically remove the part of me that gives me the ability to write, I think I would die that day. Blogging lets me write, and it allows me to share my thoughts with the virtual world.  Because, introvert that I am, I still like to connect with people. Blogging is one way to connect with you, dear reader, and invite you onto my virtual front porch so we can sit and share a moment.

I mean, sure, I could continue to fill up little notebooks and leave them all over the place. Or I could write into private folders on my computer if all I had was the urge to write… But why not kill two birds with one stone?  Why not create a virtual porch and share my thoughts with anyone who wants to share them?  So here I am, and I like being here, with all y’all. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and tidbits of my life and I enjoy it when y’all invite me on to your respective porches and share bits of your lives with me. Because blogging isn’t just about me and my thoughts, it’s a sharing of thoughts and ideas, a mingling if you will. And that is why I’m out here in the virtual world and not typing away into a private file on my computer, because virtual mingling is pretty cool. I can talk with people all over the world, and they can share their minds with me. And that, dear readers, is what’s special about our day and time. We’ve never been able to do that before, not at this speed (I used to have pen pals and it would take weeks to get snail mail from my international friends). But to hear from people who live so many time zones away in the blink of an eye. That makes me geek out even now when it’s so commonplace. And it’s why I blog.  I can, have, and will write anywhere, at any time on any available surface and medium.  But the mingling of thoughts and sharing of ideas with just… everyone… that’s pretty special right there.

Just for fun… Ulfric Stormcloak’s Why I fight speech from Skyrim… (warning, the visual is a bit choppy if you’re not used to the way video games work). I don’t know why, but this prompt brought it to mind.

No, I didn’t side with the Stormcloaks… I just thought the speech was interesting.

10 thoughts on “Why, you ask? Well, let me tell you.

  1. I love that I have made friends around the world through blogging, I don’t know what I would do if the internet wasn’t around.

    I am a little anti-social, I have a very small group of friends (two, maybe three), I am a mom and my life revolves around my children, so when I am able to come here and voice myself when I can’t talk to those friends, I know that I am able to talk to my blogging friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally did not see your comment until now. I’m so sorry for not replying! Isn’t the Internet great for making friends? I don’t know what I’d do without it either. Blogging helps me stay connected with the outside world when I’d otherwise be restricted to myself and the hubs. It’s pretty cool.

      Like

What say you?

