daily prompt / nablopomo

Road trip! Whoo hoo!

That's me! I love driving.

That’s me! I love driving.

So the daily prompt asks us the very straight-forward question of You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?). Now I’m going to assume that they’re talking about the USofA because there are some countries that aren’t even as big as some of our states and I can’t even imagine the hassle of trying to fly across those countries. I mean by the time anyone gets through the airport, they could have driven to their destination or taken a train or bus (which is why trains are way more popular elsewhere than they are here). But even I have to admit that it’s way faster to fly across our great nation (or across Canada for that matter) than it is to drive or take a train or bus. That being said, I’ll chose driving over flying any day of the week. As I mentioned before, I’m terrified of flying. I don’t want to fly. Ever. So I’ll drive. I will drive 3000 miles rather than fly six hours. Yep. I will. I have. And I’ll do it again. Don’t look at me like that. I’m afraid of flying. I’m not ashamed to admit it. Plus, I love to drive. It’s fun.

Trains

Trains

There’s something to be said for taking the train though. I’ve done it before. It’s nice to kick back with a warm cup of coffee and some knitting and watch the world go by in the club car.  Meet new people and have interesting conversations. I liked it. But train tickets are getting way expensive. I mean, not even the sleeper cars, but coach seats! It used to be not that expensive to go by train and if I didn’t have a car to get where I was going, train was my next choice, but man, now it’s almost too expensive for me. Also, when I moved from Mississippi to New Mexico, I had to take a bus to Georgia (no trains in Mississippi) then switch trains in Washington DC, then switch trains again in Chicago… What? Chicago? That’s like, the nowhere near the direction that I was going, but that’s the way the tracks go I suppose. And each leg of that trip was about a day long, including the layovers in each city. So while sitting back and letting someone else do the driving was pretty nice, the in between stuff wasn’t all that great. Six hours in a city isn’t enough to do much of anything, so I pretty much stayed in the stations because i have this morbid fear of getting lost in a strange city, missing my connection and just ending up stranded.

So true

So true

I’ve driven across my country about five times all by my onsie. I’ve driven with other people, and I’ve driven up and down each coast I don’t even know how many times. I love to travel. I’ve always wanted to hike across country. I know, it sounds weird, but it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. Not hitchhike. Just… walk. Take off and walk. Maybe take a bus from one city to another whenever there’s big stretches of no cities because I so don’t want to end up camping for days at a time (not a camper). But there’s this itch inside of me that just wants to take off walking one day with nothing but whatever will fit into my purse, or a small backpack, or something. I don’t plan on living off the land, but I don’t plan on carrying a bunch of stuff with me. I’m a suburban warrior. I know where to find food and shelter in the suburban jungle… ^_^  I know I’ll probably never do it, but it’s something I’ve just had this… thought… that I might do someday.  The closest I’ll ever come to that is driving though. With the way my body is breaking down… I’m lucky I can still drive.

4 thoughts on “Road trip! Whoo hoo!

  1. We choose driving too … except that it’s getting harder. The roads are so bad and so crowded. And we are so tired and stiff. We will have to fly to Arizona. It’s too far away to drive. I wouldn’t even want to try. Sometimes, there are no solutions that are entirely satisfactory.

    Like

  2. Walking across the country sounds like fun 😀 Maybe a little crazy, but fun 😝 as for the rest, I would gladly drive or take a train over flying anytime! I’m not afraid of flying but I tend to get air sick and that is never fun 😖

    Like

    • It would be an interesting trip… walking across country, but there’s so much of the USA that’s not populated that I could never do it. I’m okay with being in my own company so long as I know help is just a call away. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What say you?

