daily prompt / nablopomo

Truth be told…

Weirdly, I make an awful salesperson.

Weirdly, I make an awful salesperson.

Okay, okay, I said I would answer all of the daily prompts in November, and by golly I’m gonna do it. Today’s daily prompt asks the question: You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask? And I have given it some thought (seriously, I did). And honestly, I can’t think of any one person I’d sit down and want to know “the truth” about a burning question in my  mind. I operate under the assumption that everyone in my life is always telling me their version of the truth at all times, because that’s basically how I go about life. I’m not saying I never lie or that I never deceive people. I’ll straight up lie to someone’s face and get away with it too because I have an honest face and I’m a good liar. But I save that for special occasions, like getting rid of salespersons or getting out of sticky situations. Because while I’m a good liar, it’s only for those little, short lies like, “I need to get home, right now, sorry.” or “We already have three of those.”  I suck at anything that lasts more than five or ten seconds. Which is why when it comes to everyday situations, I normally tell the truth about pretty much everything, and I just assume that everyone else does the same.  Though I am prone to exaggeration, I’ll cop to that. I know I do it, but I can’t stop… It makes for a better story. Anyway, staying pretty much honest and thinking that everyone else is too makes my life easier. If I find out that someone has lied to me, well I deal with that on a case to case basis.

I have frying pans and I know how to use them.

I have frying pans and I know how to use them.

In my world, a lie is not an unforgivable sin, because I understand why people lie. As I just said, I do it myself. It depends on the scope and magnitude of the lie, and the reason behind it. Also, just because a person lies about one thing does not make everything that person says suspect. I’ve been painted with that brush before and it’s stupid. “You lied to me, how can I trust you again?” What the fuck? That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard. And the person saying it to me was someone I watched lie to other people again, and again, and again. But he lorded that one falsehood I told him over me like I’d done him the worst wrong imaginable. It’s manipulative, and made me want to crack his head open with a frying pan.

But I digress.

Just for fun... little liars

Just for fun… little liars

Someone once posted a meme on my Facebook that asked “What the biggest lie men tell?” And I’m all, What? You don’t think women lie? Please. Both genders lie their faces off, and many of the lies are the same. But I think the biggest lie that both genders will say is, “But I would never lie to you, dear.” Ha! Like I’ll fall for that one. When I watch someone lie right to their mother’s face without remorse or regret, what makes them think that I’ll believe that canard? Like I said though, a lie isn’t an unforgivable sin in my world. I just treat habitual liars with due caution and try to get more information about their yarns before I go forward with whatever they tell me. Some people cannot help themselves with their fantastical tales. Take kids for example. Man, they are little liars from the get-go. And that’s why I understand why people lie. It’s part of our survival instinct. There have been tons of studies done on it, y’all can look them up if you want to, but kids aren’t taught to lie. They do it all by themselves. Their brains go, “If this person is asking the question, they must not know the answer… so I’m going to give them a different answer that they’ll believe, and I won’t get in trouble.” Therefore, a dragon swooped in through the window and ate the cookies, not the child. Some people grow better at it, some grow out of it, and others don’t. And it’s really as simple as that.

One thought on “Truth be told…

  1. I think you’re right about truth not being black and white: everyone lies, just to different extents and in different ways. I wouldn’t know what to do with a truth serum either 😝 these daily prompts get weirder and weirder every day!

    Like

What say you?

