daily prompt / nablopomo

Sneaky buggers

So I thought that today’s prompt looked familiar but I didn’t have a post on the grid. So I searched my old posts and yep, almost the exact same prompt, but under a different web address “ripped from the headlines 2”. So they must have recycled this a couple of times.  hahahaha! Sneaky. So here’s the post from the last time I answered this prompt which bids us to: Head to your favorite online news source. Pick an article with a headline that grabs you. Now, write a short story based on the article. 

So I’ll say the same thing I said before. I don’t read the news, I don’t watch the news and I don’t really look for the news. There’s a saying “If you’re not offended then you’re not paying attention.” Well, I have no intention of being offended. I don’t want to be offended, and I don’t care. I just want to live my life, take care of my little green acre and let the rest of the world deal with itself. I can’t fix the world. All I can do is fix what’s around me. If everyone would just take care of what’s around them, the world would fix itself. But that’s just my opinion.

So anyway, I’ll do the same thing I did last time. Which is go to my RSS feed and take the same source I did for my last article and use it. Giving us this picture here:

Light in San Francisco sky

Light in San Francisco sky

Now, according to the blurb attached to this photo, this appears to be “an unpublicized test of a submarine-launched, unarmed, Trident II D5 nuclear missile” which someone caught on camera.  Interesting. So, instead of a rocket’s red glare, we have a missile’s blue light.

There are other pictures, which are linked in the blurb (linked above), and, of course, if I lived in San Francisco and saw that in the sky, I’d be all atwitter about it. My friends would have blown up my Facebook with all kinds of conjecture until the Navy confirmed what it was. I’m sure everyone and their uncle would have had some kind of explanation about what it was, what it could be and what it meant for society as a whole. End of the world conspiracies abound! Because that’s how we think.  We fear the unknown. But now we know what it was, and to me I think it’s pretty cool. I’m sure that there are some people who still think that there’s something sinister and malevolent behind that pretty blue light in the sky. But for me, it’s done and gone. I’ll let the worriers worry. I’m going back to making my little corner of the world a bit better.

One thought on “Sneaky buggers

What say you?

