daily prompt / daily stuffs

Faith is knowing…

So the daily prompt asks us to: Tell us about the role that faith plays in your life — or doesn’t. And I have a pretty simple answer.  As some of you may know, I’m Agnostic, but I’ve posted this saying on my blog before…

faith

My main motto

This is my definition of faith. And, surprisingly, it has nothing to do with any god or higher power. A lot of people when they hear the word “faith” believe that one must be talking about religion and gods. But I’m not. Then what, you might ask, do I have faith in? It’s pretty simple (or not)… I just do… Have faith that is. And this is the only faith I have really. As a matter of fact, I am no longer Christian because I lack faith in the Christian god. I kept asking questions as a teenager and they kept telling me, “Have faith.”  I just did not have the capacity for that. But if you ask me how I know things will work out, I just do.  Well, not always, but when I’m certain they will. I am absolutely sure, and nothing will shake that feeling.  I am Agnostic in the true sense of the word that I will tell you that no one can prove that any god (including the Christian god) exists or not. It simply cannot be (dis)proven, not without “faith”. And, as I mentioned, faith in a higher being is something I just don’t have the capacity for. I’m almost 100% certain that should a god exist, then that god does not have the form most people believe god does. But that’s neither here nor there.  My faith, the faith that dominates my way of thinking, is knowing that things will work out one way or another and acting accordingly.

theism diagram

Just as it says on the tin

Don’t get me wrong, dear reader, I’m not like the man in the flood, waiting for some high power to save me all the while ignoring those trying to help.  Nor do I walk blithely through life ignoring dangers because I’m certain I’ll never meet any darkness. No, when I step out into the darkness of the unknown, it’s not with blind faith, but with certain faith that I’m stepping onto solid land or that somehow I’ll be lifted before I fall. Because while I do have faith that things will work out, I also know that you cannot cross a chasm in two leaps. And sometimes, whenever I walk out into the darkness it’s not with certain faith that I’ll be stepping onto solid land nor that I’ll be lifted up but with a small hope that should I fall, the distance won’t be so great that I can’t get back up again.

falling wile e coyote

This ain’t no cartoon, you know…

And that, dear readers, is still a sort of faith.

7 thoughts on “Faith is knowing…

  1. From one agnostic to another….good post 🙂 Faith for me is the belief in the something that can’t be proven. GOD and the Devil, Easter Bunny or Santa. It’s a strong believe in something that “they” hope exists. As for me…I believe in Karma, because it does exist. I know because it bit me in the behind once or twice lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m pretty agnostic about Karma too. Kinda like ghosts and other stuff. I strongly believe in the possibility of Karma (ghosts, reincarnation, etc…), and I don’t discount personal experiences at all, but I’m still on the fence as to what, actually, happens because — personal experiences aside — it’s all open to interpretation and explanation.

      Liked by 1 person

What say you?

