daily prompt / daily stuffs

Don’t quote me on this

But I’m pretty sure I’ve answered this daily prompt before, at least once.  However, I’m not on the grid, so they either cleaned it up or I didn’t link it. I know that I’ve shared a few of my favorite quotes over the years.  I don’t have an all time favorite quote that, as the prompt suggests: I “return to again and again“.  But I do have  many that I use as a my life’s mantra. And while they don’t “move” me, they do help me along when life gets tough.

faith

all kinds of faith

So, the above is one of my favorite quotes. It has gotten me through a lot of tough times in my life. I’ve posted about it before, so you can read all about it there. It’s the foundation of everything I believe in. I have faith in knowing that everything will work out one way or another, and honestly the only way to know is to take that step into the darkness. And, as I said in my previous post, I may not have the faith that I’ll be magically lifted to the heavens should I fall, but I do have hope that… should I step into an unseen chasm, that it won’t be deep enough to do me irreparable harm. Again, the only way to know is to keep moving forward because to stand uncertain at the edge of the darkness is to stop living, and that’s a fate worse than death.

Which brings me to my next quote…

future past quote

 

While this doesn’t exactly encapsulate my idea of living in the Now, I do identify with his idea of not living in the past. Because I’ve known people throughout my life who simply cannot let go of their past and look in front of them. It’s like they’re living in a prison of their own design and they have the key in their hand!  All they have to do is turn their head away from where they’re looking. But they don’t know they have the key, nor are they aware of where the door to their self-built is. It’s horribly sad to watch them live day after day and know that if they drop their attachment to past events their life would be so much better. But they can’t, and I can’t change them. So that brings me to another of my life’s mantra…

bridge cross burn

so true

Because there have been people in my life that are so toxic it’s just easier to cut them out than to try and live with them.  Life, dear readers, is too short to deal with unhappy, venomous people. This is the only life I have as Willow, and I’ll be damned if I’m going to deal with people who make me feel awful whenever they’re around. I don’t care if they’re family. I didn’t chose my family, and I don’t think being born into a bloodline makes me beholden to anyone. I treat people the way they treat me. If they make me feel all warm and fuzzy, I treat them accordingly. If they make me want to stab them in the eye with a pencil whenever they walk into the room, I cut them the hell out of my life.   Of course, there are those who walk that road in between, but hey when it comes to the extremes, sometimes that lesson isn’t so difficult after all, right?

My last favorite quote is actually a misquote that’s been attributed to Voltaire… according to sources, he never said it, but it’s still a good quote. Anyway, it goes something like this:

quote-i-disapprove-of-what-you-say-but-will-defend-to-the-death-your-right-to-say-it-voltaire-334856

While I may not “defend to the death” someone’s right to say something. I do feel strongly about freedom of speech and how it’s being trampled on in lieu of people’s delicate feelings these days.  I could go into a rant about the PC movement, but I’ve been down that road before and I’m just too tired to go there right now.  Just understand that it’s one of the few things I feel strongly about, even if I don’t have the energy to “defend to the death” those feelings. ^_^

I could go on and on because I collect quotes like a miser collects pennies. I have notebooks full of quotes that I find to be interesting and I love hunting down origins of sayings and quotes.  I do have one more I’ll share  before I go. This one is one I learned early on in life and I think that is has many forms, but the one I learned goes this way:

gossipers

I think when I learned it it went something like: “Those who whisper to you will whisper about you” but the gist is still the same. Which kind of goes along with “A secret, once told, is no longer a secret.” etc… I learned my lesson well when I was in grade school that gossips will gossip and while it was fun to listen to secrets about other people, it so wasn’t fun when my secrets came back around to me. Luckily, my secrets weren’t too awful, but yeah… lesson learned, and learned a long time ago.  Okay, one last one, and I’ll leave y’all alone…

Above-all-watch-with

Those who do not believe…

Because I believe above all else that one should keep a childlike sense of wonder about the world. And the last sentence of that quote speaks to me more than anything… Those who do not believe in magic will never find it.  In other words, if you go into something utterly certain that it is untrue, then you will come out the other end still convinced that it is untrue.  One of the saddest things in this modern world is when I go online and watch people take apart, bit by bit, movies, plays, poems, even comic strips because they refuse to just set aside their disbelief and allow things to be. People take on the role of “informer” as in “I must inform everyone who will listen how wrong this is because that’s not how the real world works”.  I think that’s sad, because magic is all around us, if only one knows where to look for it or as Dumbledore said:

dumbledore light

^_^

2 thoughts on “Don’t quote me on this

  1. The not-Voltaire quote apparently belongs to Voltaire’s 1906 biographer, Evelyn Beatrice Hall.

    “Those who do not believe in magic will never find it.” I would like to take this to mean if you don’t keep an open mind, you’ll never learn anything new. Kind of a parallel with (author unknown) “Don’t confuse me with facts, my mind is made up.”

    Great post.

    Like

What say you?

