daily prompt / daily stuffs

built like a brick house

I’m totally not… but that’s what came to mind when I saw today’s daily prompt. That and this song:

This song would totally not fly in today’s PC world. OMG, so objectifying! o.O  But man, I loved this song when I was a kid. I thought that it was a great disco song, good beat, I could dance to it, really the lyrics weren’t that bad. I’ve heard worse.

july 23 post ton-of-bricks

It would go over like a ton of bricks

Of course, this song came out when I was 11 (1977), so the lyrics didn’t mean much of anything to me except they were fun to sing and probably funny as anyone who heard my scrawny blonde self walking down the street singing: “Shes’ a Brick! House! She’s mighty mighty! Letting it all hang out!” Complete with disco moves. Because I was happening, baby! I had no idea what “stacked” meant, nor did I know what “letting it all hang out” was all about. I thought being a brick house meant being built like a strong, muscular person who wasn’t gonna take nuthin’ from nobody.  And letting it all hang out was, you know, being confident. What did I know? Of course, the term “brick house” has both meanings. If applied to a man, it means he’s built solidly and can take a beating and give as good as he gets.  If applied to a woman, it means she’s “solidly build with curves in all the right places…” (36-24-36 according to the song… so realistic guys…) . Whatever. It’s still a fun song.

paco

The little troublemaker

Anyway, that’s what came to mind with today’s prompt. Nothing deep or meaningful. Just an old song from when I was a kid. It’s been a weird couple of days. We have a new member of the family. A little Chihuahua mix we adopted from a shelter who is smaller than my cat. This little guy weighs 8 pounds if he weighs that. Give him a few months with us and that’ll change! Ha!  As one vet said about our pets, “No one starves in your house.”  I know she was being sarcastic, but it’s true. No one starves here. Both of the other dogs came in looking kinda scrawny too, and now they’re pleasingly plump… not quite overweight, but… almost. The cat is fat, but he’s content with that and there isn’t much I can do about it. Anyway, Mister (the cat) isn’t happy with the new addition, but he’ll have to get used to it. I’m not used to having such a tiny animal around, but I’ll get used to it. Paco (name the shelter gave him, it fits him and he answers to it, so we’ll keep it) isn’t used to being walked on leases and it’s quite the adventure to get him to take a walk with the rest of us, but he is (thank goodness) housebroken.  The other two dogs are pretty meh about the whole thing until Paco goes into overdrive whenever we put the leash on (like Chihuahua’s do) then it stresses everyone out. But, he’s only been with us for a day… he’ll settle down. Right now everyone’s asleep on the couch, so it’s all peace and quiet for now. I’m taking advantage of it to write a bit and check my mail.

One thought on “built like a brick house

What say you?

