challenge

Here we are at day three

This is day three of Melinda’s  Three Quote challenge. By the way, visit her blog: Purple Slob In Recovery. For the challenge I’m supposed to blog one quote a day for three days (three quotes over three days). Today is the third and final day.

So, a long time ago, in a restaurant far far away, I was sitting with some co-workers bidding adieu to one of them with, hello! free lunch! because that’s how that company rolled.  There weren’t many of us, probably about ten, mostly female, when one of my coworkers said to another:

up-in-my-koolaid

Ha!

Now, I wasn’t a part of that particular conversation, but I overheard this bit, and I was all, “Oh my god, that is such an awesome thing to say. I’m going to write that down (and I did). But, what does that even mean?” So I waited until they were finished and asked my coworker what that meant. It means, for those who don’t know, “You’re poking your nose into my business, but you have no idea what’s going on.”

can you remember

Screw “the world”

I like the Kool-aid version better, but I don’t use it. Not because it would be considered appropriation or anything, because I totally use language that’s considered “not white” and/or not appropriate for my age and/or gender.  I soak up words and phrases like a sponge and use the ones I like.  I’ve been using totally since my teens and I probably will never stop. I picked up y’all from living in The South and will probably use that until the day I die. I still say things such as “And I’m all like” because I like the way they sound. I don’t care if other people think they make me sound ignorant. I know I’m not ignorant.  I don’t have to prove myself to anyone.  I speak and write in a way that makes me feel comfortable because guess what? This is the only time I have to be me. I won’t have another, and I’m not going to waste this time attempting to validate myself to anyone. Screw that noise.

Anyway, I don’t use the Kool-aid version because it just doesn’t fit into my personal vernacular.  There are thousands of quotes, proverbs, and sayings out there that I absolutely love and think are the best thing since sliced bread, but I can’t absorb them all into my personal vocabulary — I can try, by golly! I can try.  Just kidding. Not everything sounds good coming out of my mouth or shoehorned into my writing. I like to think I have a golden tongue, but I just don’t.

So that’s it! Three quotes in three days. Hope you enjoyed them as much as I did writing them.

 

7 thoughts on “Here we are at day three

  1. ” I speak and write in a way that makes me feel comfortable because guess what? This is the only time I have to be me. I won’t have another, and I’m not going to waste this time attempting to validate myself to anyone.” YES! That!
    That’s why I use my Southern-isms,and colloquialisms. That’s the way I talk!
    Thanks, Willow for doing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard that one before too but was always too self-conscious to actually use it in conversation 😂 The language we use says a lot about our personal histories and stories doesn’t it? That’s why I love words! The weirder the better 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

What say you?

