daily stuffs

There will always be

Someone or a group of someones in power. And there will always be people who fully support those in power. And, contrarily, those who violently object to them. And those who stand in the middle.  The person/people in power can be the epitome of good and light or they can be evil incarnate and there will still be those who fully support/violently hate them. This is the way of the world. It’s how it’s been, it’s how it will always be. As soon as there are more than three humans in the room, one will rise to the leadership role, even if it is covertly, and one will be okay with that, and the other won’t. Get more than five in the room and the dynamics change. Get twenty in the room and there will be factions and vitriol. It doesn’t matter if they are all the same age, color, race, or gender, or they the are as diverse as the Earth’s population — there will be (given any amount of time) power struggles, factions, cliques, and everything that is right and wrong with every. single. form of government on this Earth. Because that is the way of humankind. Whether you, dear reader, like it or not.

voted

I have no regrets.

Yesterday, on my Facebook, I said that I had finally, after fifty years on this Earth, lost my faith in humanity. I saw a man rise to power who (I believe with all of my heart) has no business being there. And I’m not alone. He lost the popular vote. Today, I watched friends and family play the “blame game” on that same Facebook. I saw people blame everyone else for his rise to power.  I mean, we all — every single one of us told everyone else, “Go out and vote.” but what I guess some people meant was, “Go vote for who I want you to vote for.” And it doesn’t work like that. We here in the states have a right to vote for whomever we want to vote for.  I didn’t vote for Trump. But I don’t “blame” the people who did, and I don’t demand that they explain their vote to anyone.  I have friends who I know voted for him. I have family members who I know voted for him. I will not demand (as I’ve seen others do) that they unfriend me.  It is their right to vote as they wish. They don’t owe me — or anyone else — an explanation.  He’s promised his followers a lot. Maybe they think he will deliver. When Bill Clinton was voted into office, my uncle was convinced we were all going to hell and that Bill Clinton was the anti-Christ. I can bet money that he voted for Trump. Money on the barrel. Will I still speak with my uncle? Of course. Because he is as firm in his convictions as I am in mine, and that is his right. Do I agree with his actions? Not in any way, shape, or form. But he has every right to vote for who he believes is right as I do. I don’t “blame” people like my uncle for bringing someone like Trump to power. As a good friend of mine said this morning, “Nothing good comes from playing the blame game.”

foodmaybe

So long as they’re fed, they’re happy

Honestly, I looked out my window this morning and I saw that the sun rose just like it did yesterday. The clocks still ticked ever onward. My pets have no care who sits in the president’s chair; they simply want to be fed. The world didn’t blow up as I slept last night. Nothing changed. Even as my friends and family anguished about what this all means, the world moved slowly on as it always has. As it always will. No matter who is President of the United States. Is having Trump in the oval office the end of the world as we know it? I don’t know. He’s not there yet. All I know is that I’m not going to borrow trouble before it happens. And if the worst does happen, I do know this. Even in the darkest of times, there are those who will rebel, some overtly, and some covertly. Over half of the people who voted for someone other than Trump.  Right now, everyone is looking at the 47% (last time I checked) who voted for him. But there were those who didn’t vote. Those who just couldn’t decide. Those who voted against him.  I see people saying “It’s not enough!” But they’re being negative. Look to the positive. 53% of the people who voted, voted against him.  Even if the worst of the worst happens and we end up in a dystopia, there will always be people who will rebel.  As Mr. Rogers said: When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” Even as people are shouting, “It’s not enough!” there will always be people in need of help and people willing to help. Ignore the shouters, and be a helper, and thankful for the helpers. Not everyone can fight on the front lines.

you-are-here

All 7 billion of us…

So, here we are. My mind is still reacting. I will go on. The world will go on. And the universe will continue to ignore us and our petty politics as it ever has. And in the end, all I have to do is look up into the sky to realize how petty it all is. And even if it is the end of the world as we know it… well,  who knows? Maybe it isn’t. I don’t want to borrow trouble from a future that hasn’t happened yet. We could all be buried by a super volcano tomorrow, and then we won’t have to worry about it at all. It could happen. And even if that happens, the universe will go marching merrily on. Me? I’m going to live my life as I have been, one day at a time. It’s worked so far, and it’s how I deal with these things. Y’all do what works for you — so long as no one gets hurt.

2 thoughts on “There will always be

  1. I didn’t vote for either of them. When the time comes (and it will) I can say (even as a Republican) Don’t blame me! I didn’t put him in office. I DID vote though. And you are right! The sun did come up and hopefully it will continue to come up. Bottom line… it’s done and now all we can do is pray for him and the office he will hold. Let’s just pray Congress can keep him under control… Hillary lost because of bad strategy. She under estimated the “battleground” states and thought she had them in the bag. That was a HUGE mistake! And ultimately the reason she lost the key states of MI, WI, Ohio and PA. That is what cost her the election. Plus, people hated both of them and didn’t vote at all. I am a firm believer that when you don’t vote, you are still voting. And if you didn’t vote, you have ZERO right to bitch about whoever is in office. 🙂

    Like

  2. Garry is taking this pretty hard, but he’s working at rationalizing it. I write myself out of despair and apparently, so do you. It works for me.

    No one knows what Trump’s real agenda is. He used to be a liberal Democrat and now he’s a nominal Republican — but really, he is himself and his loyalties are not to any party. Which makes him a completely wild card. I think we need to try not to panic and see how things roll out.

    We’ve seen candidate Trump. Is this the same guy who will sit in the Oval office or shall we see another version?

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

