daily prompt / daily stuffs

Some pretty pictures

Not mine of course. I’m still working things out with my phone, and I can’t find my camera. But let’s get the new year started with the best National Geographic pictures from 2016. I remember when my mom had a print subscription to this magazine. I loved looking at the pictures within. Now I can peruse their awesomeness online. I usually love their end of the year stuff, and this year is no different.

grizzly-adapt-1190-1

In Alaska, a mother grizzly and her cubs cause a “bear jam” on Denali’s 92-mile-long Park Road, open to private vehicles only five days each summer.
This photo was originally published in “How Can 6 Million Acres at Denali Still Not Be Enough?” in February 2016.

day-to-night-yosemite-ngsversion-1481025682240-adapt-1900-1

On a mountainside in Yosemite National Park, photographer Stephen Wilkes took 1,036 images over 26 hours to create this day-to-night composite.
This photo was originally published in “How National Parks Tell Our Story—and Show Who We Are,” in January 2016.

bukhansan-park-korea-adapt-1190-1

Within sight of downtown Seoul, South Korea’s capital and a hub of modern stressful life, salesman Sungvin Hong rests after a hike in Bukhansan National Park.
This photo was originally published in “This Is Your Brain on Nature,” in January 2016.

The rest of the pictures can be found here: The Best of 2016.  I would have gone out and taken pictures of the dusting of snow we had yesterday, but I’m still fighting off this sudden case of fatigue/headache I have. It’s not a migraine, more like a sinus headache and damn, am I exhausted from just… you know. Breathing. So I’ll just share these with y’all and we can ooooh and awww at  them together.

Most of all, have a great new year’s y’all. Be good, and be safe.

via Daily Prompt: Year

4 thoughts on “Some pretty pictures

What say you?

