daily stuffs

My new motto

Ever since the election (and even some time before), I’ve been bombarded with people from all sides telling me how this is the end of the world as we know it. Even I sat in disbelief on election night as the one person I never thought could ever come into power waltzed his way into power. My heart sank and I too thought, for a very brief moment, that that was the end of the world as we know it. What? I’m human too. But you know what?  I don’t live in the future, no one does. I live in the here and now. I have no idea what Drumpf will do in office. I don’t. You don’t. No one does. We can only speculate. We… You, me, and the lamppost, can only make educated (and in some cases uneducated) guesses based on what we know or believe to know about the man and the way the government works. But we cannot know. We will never know until it actually happens. Because we are not soothsayers. So:
the-world-ends
And that’s how I intend to live my life. Even if having Drumpf in office means the end of the world, it hasn’t happened yet. And until such time that it happens, I intend to live my life as though it won’t. Does that mean I’m burying my head in the sand and pretending everything is all right? No. I’m fully aware of what he is and what may happen because he’s in power. But I’m not going to clutch my pearls and wring my hands and worry myself to death over what might be. It’s not in my nature. Do I think that we as the American people should work to ensure that the worst of the worst doesn’t happen? Hell yeah. But screaming from the street corners that it will happen doesn’t help anyone. It just makes you this guy:

Heimskr from Skyrim

I don’t know anyone who likes this guy. He just stands in the middle of Whiterun and preaches… day in and day out. There are mods that make him preach only during certain hours, and mods that shut him up completely. Even “true stormcloaks” who agree with what he’s saying, they don’t like him.  Actions always speak louder than words. Always. And they don’t need to be great, heroic actions, sometimes it’s the small actions that lead to great actions. I think what I’m tired of right now is everyone screaming at each other. I just wish people would shut up for a moment and take the time to, I dunno, talk instead of scream, and listen. everyone is screaming and no one is listening. And that — I believe — is how we got Drumpf in office. He screamed the loudest.

clock

Because… time

Anyway, my new motto is pretty much the same as my old motto but cooler because Nick Fury said it. 🙂  I will live this day as if it’s the only day I have because I’m not guaranteed tomorrow.  No one is guaranteed tomorrow. A rogue meteor can hit the Earth from out of nowhere and there’s nothing anyone can do about it. Who knows? We’re pretty helpless when it comes to the forces of nature you know. Our petty politics are laughable when we look up into the universe and all its size and magnitude. But yeah… Anyway, I’m not concerned that tomorrow won’t be there, because I take for granted that it will. I’m not going to waste what precious time I have worrying about what will be and what’s already been. This is the only time I have. The right here and now, so this moment, this one moment right here, is the only point in time that I’m going to live my life in. I’ll simply live as though the next moment is going to happen. If it doesn’t, if the future is suddenly take from me… well, there’s not much I can do about it, is there?

8 thoughts on “My new motto

  1. Couldn’t agree more with you. Living in the now doesn’t mean that you should not make plans. But it means that you don’t stress out over something you have no influence on whatsoever. And we really can’t influence what will happen. Not at all. It bugs me that some people think they can and I wonder why they have such a strong believe in something that is so impossible.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right? Living in the now has greatly reduced my stress levels and man, has it made such a change in my life. I mean, I’ve always been a “live this moment” kind of person, but I used to worry about “what if”? scenarios too. I don’t do that anymore. Tomorrow is tomorrow. I’ll deal with it when it gets here. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the very well thought out post. It paints a very good picture of the country at the present time. I was quite surprised when the incoming president made a comment about draining the swamp when he got into office on twitter yesterday after the GOP had a closed door meeting to change rules. It would seem the GOP tried to change rules on their first order of business yesterday they want to be able to do away with Obama care with a simple majority not two thirds. So there was a little bit of tension on the first day Congress went to work. I have a funny feeling, after watching politics my whole life I’m 76 years old right now. Nothing is cut in stone in Washington DC. There’s a chance the new president may turn out to be more liberal than conservative. He did get elected on the promise of cleaning house, or ‘draing the swampall candidates that I ever recall running for president and promised the same thing though. I do recall Trump’s face election night when he realized he had been elected president. His face looked shocked to me. it almost showed a look of fear, like what in the world
    am I gonna do now. I hope he is up to the job, so they don’t have to take him off to a rubber room because he lost his marbles.
    Thanks again for your great post it’s all about being positive that is for sure.

    Like

  3. Those are some of the most sensible words I have read since the election of the horrible “Drumpf”. I think your attitude is a good one, nothing can be done now but ride the storm (or hopefully he will surprise everyone).

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

