daily stuffs / Share Your World

Sharing my world

What is the most incredible natural venue that you’ve ever seen in person?  That’s a tossup between the Grand Canyon and the Redwood National Forest. Both are awesome in their own right and they are incredibly different too. Oh, and there’s the Olympic Rain Forest here in Washington state (All of these are US National Parks by the way… just so’s you know). It is pretty amazing. Then there are the cypress swamps down in The South that simply take my breath away.  The deserts of New Mexico are pretty awesome too.  Pictures from some of my trips:

grand canyon

Grand Canyon

redwoods

Redwood National Forest

cyprus swamp1

Cypress Swamp

I guess you could say that I can’t pick a favorite. I think that nature is beautiful just about everywhere I go.  Just looking up into the night sky fills me with wonder and awe, and I only have to step outside of my door at night to do that.

Twin-cats-are-ugly

Twins. 

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order? I have one sister and three brothers.  I am the oldest by five minutes. So I have three younger brothers and a twin sister. Yep, I’m a twin. Some of y’all already knew that since I’ve mentioned it once or twice. We’re identical twins. We look exactly alike.  Well, we used to.  We looked like mirror images right up through our forties. But age and life changes that whole “look exactly alike” thing to some extent. Now we look more like sisters and less like twins, but what can you do? I’ve seen pictures of other twins who never change… I dunno how they do it. Maybe they lead blessed lives.  Maybe it’s makeup. I dunno. Anyway, according to my mom, and barring any mix-ups as babies (it could happen), I am the first born and therefore the oldest by five minutes. If there were an inheritance and no will, I’d get it by default. Because I am the firstborn, so I rule the kingdom! Bwhahahahaha! (mine is an evil laugh) That’s an inside joke by the way.

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why? If I were a shoe, I would be non-existent if I had anything to say about it. That would be a horrible life to live, especially if one were sentient enough to be aware of being a shoe. No way. To be wrapped about a stinky foot and trod upon all day long, splashed through puddles, mud, and who-knows-what-else? No, I don’t think so.  But if I absolutely *had* to be a shoe, I’d be a dress shoe that’s uncomfortable to wear. At least then I would spend most of my time tucked away in the closet. Warm and dry. No puddles for me.

Elvis-Presley-Sandwich

This comes pretty close though. 😉

What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten? I can honestly tell you… I don’t remember. And it’s not because I’ve haven’t been adventurous in my eating either. I’ve eaten a lot of things in my life, but I don’t consider anything I’ve eaten — that I can recall — “weird” or “strange”, though I have people who would probably disagree with me. For as long as I can remember, going far back into my childhood, I’ve been surrounded by people from all over the world, and with that comes cuisine from all over the world.  I’m also old enough to have friends and family that grew up during the Great Depression, they made use of things we wouldn’t even dream of using today. So I don’t think twice about eating things that most Americans today would gag over.

Some people think that scrapple  (follow link for explanation) is strange and weird. I don’t like it myself, but my dad loves the stuff. I used to mix mayonnaise and ketchup to put on my fries (fry sauce), some would call that strange, but I’m not the only one who does that, so it’s not completely unheard of.  So, to answer the question, I can’t really answer that question, unless accidentally swallowing a bug counts. That’s happened once or twice in my lifetime.

Share Your World Jan 30, 2017

9 thoughts on “Sharing my world

  1. Oh, wow, I haven’t heard scrapple mentioned in years. Oh, you do my heart a joy with that one! I love scrapple. Had some for dinner night before last, in fact. Love depression era dishes. I went to using my Gram’s cookbook from that time and cut our food bill by 75%. Yep, I did! And, a good thing as we were between jobs at the time. We actually gained weight on that food. Oh, man, now I’m hungry…. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. Actually, we call it “Russian dressing,” but there’s nothing Russian about it. If you add a bit of sweet pickle relish, we call it “Thousand Island dressing,” but it’s still mayo, ketchup, and relish. Take away the ketchup, keep the relish, and you have tatar sauce for fried fish. Ah the many combinations of those three ingredients. Dump the relish and the mayo, add a bit of horseradish (and a dribble of lemon juice, if you like) and you have shrimp cocktail sauce.

    Isn’t it wonderful how great our national parks are? I am so hoping we don’t lose them. They seem to be a collection of the most amazing places on this continent!

    I’ve been to the Redwoods and Grand Canyon. And Great Smoky national park. I think I’ve been to a couple of others, but I don’t remember. Oh, Skyline Drive in Virginia, too. There are now quite a few of them and we live in a national historic corridor which is “almost a national park.” Except it’s not, but we are (were?) sort of protected.

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

