Share Your World

Sharing my world (3/20 edition)

Gym

Story of my life… ^_^

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?  It’s hard to pick a specific age, but I’d say that I’d be in my twenties if I didn’t know how old I really am. My mind never grew out of my twenties. Yeah, yeah, I know. That’s a decade to pick from right there, but that’s the best I can do.  I’m open to new things and part of me still wants to go out and explore the world like I did in my twenties. But I’m also older and (questionably) wiser than I was in my early twenties. Not as star-struck by the world in general, so there’s that. And then there’s my body, who thinks it’s eighty. It started failing in my mid-twenties, early thirties… So there’s this disconnect between what age my mind thinks I am, and what age my body thinks I am. It’s frustrating.  Anyway, I go through life thinking I’m roughly about 25-28 and get reminded that I’m about twice that age whenever I stand up, then I think I must be at least 70. Ha!

doggy puddle

Sometimes it rains too much

So, you’re on your way out and it’s raining. Do you know where your umbrella is or do you frantically search for it all over your apartment/house?  There’s a saying around here… “Umbrellas are for wimps and tourists.”  ^_^  It rains around here. A lot. And much of that rain is a misty drizzle that just kind of hangs in the air and clings to everything, which umbrellas don’t help with, at all. And some of that rain is torrential downpours which will kill an umbrella in very little time. I do have an umbrella though, from before we moved here. It sits outside of my front door and I think I’ve used it once or twice when walking the dogs.  Really, it’s better to have a good coat and a good hat than bother with umbrellas.

Introvert ExtrovertDo you recharge your energy by going out with friends for a good time or by spending with quiet time alone? I expend energy by going out with friends, family, or whatever. I recharge energy by spending time alone. I am introverted by nature, but I’m what they now call and extroverted introvert.  Meaning, I don’t mind hanging out with people and I’m even cool going to parties and engaging in social interaction.  People who know me have a difficult time believing that I’m introverted by nature, but I am. Because although I’m comfortable around people and have no difficulties with conversations and social niceties,  I’m also more than happy to sit alone at home and surf the net, read a book, craft, or play video games. As an introvert, I’m comfortable with my own company and very rarely get lonely. As a matter of fact, as an introvert, I need the time alone to recharge. That’s what defines the introvert.

Name three things you and your spouse, partner or best friend have in common.  I’ll go with my spouse here, since he’s the easiest.  Let’s see.

Number one: He and I are both introverts, though he’s more introverted than I am. He’s so introverted that he needs time alone from me to recharge, and I’m his nearest and dearest. But that’s okay, I understand. I’m what they call and extroverted introvert, as mentioned above, I don’t mind spending time with people or socializing, so long as I can go home and recharge my batteries whenever I need to, I’m good. But the hubs isn’t good with the whole socializing thing unless it’s with close friends and family.  Even then after a little while, he’s aching to get home and de-stress from all of that socializing.

wallee

He’s a Mac user; I’m a PC person

Number two: We’re both Agnostic and middle of the road type of people when it comes to a lot of things.  Neither of us has a strong opinion about a lot of things, we question everything and try to see both — if not all — sides to debates and arguments.  If we have strong opinions, you can bet that we have weighed the sides and it’ll take a lot to persuade us otherwise. We don’t always agree on many things, but we very rarely argue about much of anything.

Number three: We’re both geeks and/or nerds.  He’s the geekiest geek that every geeked, and I’m a geek/nerd from way back before it was cool, but we both like comic books, sci-fi things (books, movies, &c…), movies of all genres, and we both enjoy a good book. As with all things, our tastes aren’t exactly the same when it comes to these things, but they are similar. For example, he likes the Game of Thrones, and I’m not a fan. I like paranormal fiction like the books from Patricia Briggs and I can lay money down that he won’t enjoy those at all. But that’s okay. Having uncommon ground makes life interesting. ^_^

Via Share Your World March 20, 2017

6 thoughts on “Sharing my world (3/20 edition)

What say you?

