daily prompt

He’s waiting for Fry

So, a long time ago, I posted this picture on my Facebook page because I thought it was sad… I didn’t really know the context of it. I just thought it was sad.

waiting for fry

Oh, my god, did I open up a can of worms with that one picture. Friends and family everywhere just came out of the woodwork to tell me just how sad that picture actually was and the tears… oh, the tears…

For those who don’t know (like I didn’t know) Fry is a character — the main one I think — in a show called Futurama, which I have never watched.  If I’m understanding the reference above (and the video I’m about to post below), Fry goes into the pizza place where he works and never comes out (because he is froze somehow and wakes up hundreds of years in the future) his dog, not knowing the fate of his master, faithfully waits for Fry outside of the pizza place until his death.

 Man’s best friend.

From what I understand, it’s quite a sad episode. I thought it was a touching picture, and I’ll agree that the video is sad too, but I wasn’t expecting the comments that came my way about how devastated people were by that episode, and how much that one picture really touched them.

Anyway, that’s what came to mind when I saw the daily prompt.

via Daily Prompt: Fry

4 thoughts on “He’s waiting for Fry

  1. Pass the freakin’ Kleenex because now I’m bawling too. I think that’s possibly the saddest thing – the faithful dog waiting patiently for an owner who never comes back. An analogy perhaps for those of us who lost loves – whether they were a construct of our own minds or the real flesh and blood people who weren’t quite the person we imagined… There’s a poem about some forgotten toys on a shelf waiting for the little boy who never comes back (I don’t know if he died or grew up) that never fails to make me weep (which is why you aren’t getting the citation here..I’m already crying, the keyboard will get soggy and perhaps short out). And I can’t listen to “Puff the Magic Dragon” (even though I KNOW that’s probably a drug song or something deep like that) without bawling. I belong in Never Never Land. Never grow up, never grow old, never leave anyone or thing behind…

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

